Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

What's inside a TFT monitor?

• Please log in to reply

jlmorgan

jlmorgan

• PipPip
  • 16 posts
Hello all!

I recently took apart a fairly old 17" TFT monitor and have written a blog all about my experience. I thought that it might be of interest to some in this community so I thought I would share it:

http://mesmorgan.wor...-a-tft-monitor/

I am a pretty amateur blogger so any feedback is always welcome!

Edited by jlmorgan, 28 September 2009 - 05:46 AM.

Advertisements

mpascal

mpascal

Math Nerd

• Retired Staff
  • 3,644 posts
Very interesting, I always like taking things apart to learn how they work first hand :)

BHowett

BHowett

OT Moderator

• 4,649 posts

I would also just like to point out that when I put it back together again, not only did the screen still work, but so did the buttons on the front, I actually fixed it!

did you dust it off before putting it back together... ha ha you should of done it before you bought the new one :)

oh yeah, did you end up with any extra parts?

jlmorgan

jlmorgan

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
There were 3 screws left over afterwards. I did try to get rid of the dust while I was in there, although to be honest I didn't think it would work again so I wasn't that bothered about cleaning it up.

Maybe I should have tried this before replacing it, but I am pretty happy with my new widescreen :)

Troy

Troy

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 8,841 posts

My wife thought it was a waste of time, but she just doesn’t understand, it’s a guy thing.

:)