Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Setting a SATA drive as C: for Windows install

• Please log in to reply

DayMeYun

DayMeYun

• Pip
  • 3 posts
I apologize ahead of time because I won't even pretend to fully understand what I'm doing and this may very well be a silly mistake on my part, but I'm trying to recover some very important data and want to avoid a hefty repair bill.

I've been running Windows XP Home on my machine for a good 3 years now. In the past month or so, my machine became prone to random restarts and then last week, became completely unable to boot to Windows. I'll get as far as the XP loading screen, and then it will just restart again. I attempted a repair install with my installation disc, but it's not an option, and I'm assuming my hard drive (a 160GB IDE drive) is damaged in some fashion. I do NOT want to do a clean install since there is data on the drive that can't be easily duplicated (I'm a writer and all of my work is on it).

So I bought a new hard drive, a 1TB SATA drive. What I need to do is install Windows on the SATA drive, and then get the data off of the old IDE drive and use that as a backup. When I hook everything up and go into the Windows install, it shows my drives set up like this.

C:// The old IDE drive
D:// The new SATA drive

Obviously, I can't install Windows on the SATA drive without formating the IDE drive, and losing everything. I'm trying to make the SATA drive into the C drive, but I'm at a loss to figure out how I can do so.