Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Applications randomly deselecting

• Please log in to reply

Wumbo

Wumbo

• PipPip
  • 19 posts
Hi,

I've been using my computer since about 2001 without any problems. However, very recently I've had some issues with it. The most prominent and bothersome of which is that whenever I am using an application (be it notepad, FireFox, StarCraft, or Trillian), it will apparently at random deselect. So if I'm typing a message like I am right now, sometimes the window will deselect (not minimize) and I'll have to click on the window again to continue typing. If I'm using a fullscreen application like StarCraft, it will be as if I'd minimized it and bring me to my desktop (very frustrating in a competetive game).

I've only done one thing out of the ordinary recently, which is to take all of the folders from 'My Music" and put them onto an external harddrive (the total size being about 40 gigs). I don't see why that would cause a problem because there aren't any system files there, but that's all I can think of...

I've run virus scanners like malware bytes and Avast, but the problem has not went away, so I suspect it might be something not related to a virus?

I also got 'blue screens of death' for the first time this year, but it stopped happening when I stopped using a particular application (that I used to be able to use fine) so I suspect it's only because parts of my computer are getting old and can't handle the strain. This deselecting problem must be something else though.