Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Windows XP won't let me into Recovery Console

• Please log in to reply

Rubyruth

Rubyruth

• PipPip
  • 20 posts
I posted the following onto another forum where I am studying a computer technicial course! :) I've only just started the course so need as much help as I can get!

Windows could not start because the following is missing or corrupt
\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG\SYSTEM
You can attempt to repair this file by starting windows setup using the original setup CD Rom.
Select ‘r’ at the first screen to start repair.
Restarted pc with windows disk in – doesn’t autorun so went F12 then scrolled down to CDROM. Disk then loads files and stuff.
I selected the repair option. Chose 1 as my windows to log on (was the only option). Then got C:\Windows> at this point I bottled it and just exited from this and walked away.
Is it just a case of delete C:\windows\system32\config\system
Followed by copy C:\windows\repair\system c:\windows\system32\config\system ?

First response I got was C:/,type in CHKDSK /R

My reply was this .....
I did the CHKDSK thing and it didn’t cure the problem and now I think I’ve made the problem worse. A colleague at work directed me to http://support.micro.....Ben-us;307545