Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Windows XP and Vista

• Please log in to reply

bh115577

bh115577

• Pip
  • 5 posts
I'm not that good with computers. Could really use some help. I got a copy of vista that was supposed to be good and turned out to be bootleg and now the computer is pretty much locked up. I want to erase everything and put my recovery discs in and start over but it won't let me. I start up and F8 my way in to safe mode with command prompt and try to put in C:\<WINDOWS>CD so as to get to the HDD clean and work my way through from there but every time it comes up access denied. Any ideas???

Advertisements

rshaffer61

rshaffer61

• 34,114 posts
Hello bh115577.... Welcome to GeeksToGo, :) :) :)

I'm sorry to hear about your issue. We will try to help you resolve this as soon as possible.
Please understand we are all volunteers and we are not here all the time. Sometimes it may be a extended amount of time to get back to you. If it has been more then 3 days please shoot me a PM and I will try to get back to you quickly then.

Please post your system make and model.
Is this a name brand system?
You say you have a recovery cd. Being that the case then what you would need to do is change the boot sequence in your bios so that the system will read the cdrom first. To do this follow the next steps and make sure your recovery cd is in before you Save and Exit the bios.

To change Boot Sequence in your BIOS