Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Streams online having bad quality


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Falcons84

Falcons84

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 264 posts
By streams I mean NBA League Pass Broadband. Whenever i use it it takes up like 95% of my computer. Is there any way I download something to help improve watching videos or something?
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Hello Falcons84.... Welcome to GeeksToGo, :) :) :)

I'm sorry to hear about your issue. We will try to help you resolve this as soon as possible.
Please understand we are all volunteers and we are not here all the time. Sometimes it may be a extended amount of time to get back to you. If it has been more then 3 days please shoot me a PM and I will try to get back to you quickly then.


Please supply some system specs
Make and model
memory total
Video card
Hard drive total space and free space.
To get most of this info do the following.


Download and install Free Everest Home Edition
Open it.
1: In left pane expand Computer folder.
2: Click once on Summary
3: In upper menu, go Report
4: And then to Quick Report-Summary
5: Save it in text file, and paste it in your next post.
Click the + by computer, click on Sensor. Get a screenshot and post it so I can check your temps and voltages...

DO NOT INCLUDE ANYTHING UNDER THE LINE THAT SAYS "DEBUG- PCI"
  • 0

#3
Falcons84

Falcons84

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 264 posts
--------[ EVEREST Home Edition © 2003-2005 Lavalys, Inc. ]------------------------------------------------------------

Version EVEREST v2.20.405
Homepage http://www.lavalys.com/
Report Type Quick Report
Computer PC110995545484 (family laptop)
Generator mom
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition 5.1.2600 (WinXP Retail)
Date 2009-10-29
Time 15:55


--------[ Summary ]-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Computer:
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition
OS Service Pack Service Pack 3
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Computer Name PC110995545484 (family laptop)
User Name mom

Motherboard:
CPU Type Mobile AMD Turion 64 ML-37, 2000 MHz (10 x 200)
Motherboard Name Hewlett-Packard Pavilion dv5000 (ET818UA#ABA)
Motherboard Chipset ATI Radeon Xpress 200M, AMD Hammer
System Memory 2048 MB (PC2700 DDR SDRAM)
BIOS Type Phoenix (02/24/06)

Display:
Video Adapter ATI MOBILITY RADEON Xpress 200 Series (128 MB)
Video Adapter ATI MOBILITY RADEON Xpress 200 Series (128 MB)
3D Accelerator ATI Radeon Xpress 200M (RS480M)
Monitor Plug and Play Monitor
Monitor Generic Television

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter ATI SB400 - AC'97 Audio Controller

Storage:
IDE Controller Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller
IDE Controller Texas Instruments PCIxx21 Integrated FlashMedia Controller
Disk Drive FUJITSU MHV2120AT PL (120 GB, 4200 RPM, Ultra-ATA/100)
Optical Drive HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-4084N
SMART Hard Disks Status OK

Partitions:
C: (NTFS) 101127 MB (71659 MB free)
D: (FAT32) 12283 MB (155 MB free)
Total Size 110.8 GB (70.1 GB free)

Input:
Keyboard Quick Launch Buttons
Mouse Synaptics PS/2 Port TouchPad

Network:
Network Adapter Broadcom 802.11a/b/g WLAN (192.168.1.4)
Network Adapter Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC
Modem AC97 Soft Data Fax Modem with SmartCP

Peripherals:
Printer Microsoft XPS Document Writer
Printer Quicken PDF Printer
USB1 Controller ATI SB400 - USB Controller
USB1 Controller ATI SB400 - USB Controller
USB2 Controller ATI SB400 - USB 2.0 Controller
USB Device HP Integrated Module with Bluetooth 2.0 Wireless Technology
Battery Microsoft AC Adapter
Battery Microsoft ACPI-Compliant Control Method Battery

Problems & Suggestions:
Problem Disk free space is only 1% on drive D:.

Edited by Falcons84, 29 October 2009 - 01:57 PM.

  • 0

#4
Falcons84

Falcons84

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 264 posts
It doesnt say much in the Sensor category so i'll just type it here:

Sensor Properties
Sensor Type: HDD

Temperatures
FUJITSU MHV2120AT PL: 44 degrees celsius (111 degrees Fahrenheit)


Thats all it said. Also, why does it say that it is 111 degrees Fahrenheit? That definitly sounds wrong.

Edited by Falcons84, 29 October 2009 - 02:07 PM.

  • 0

#5
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Download Autoruns from the link in my signature below:
1: Extract the Autoruns Zip file contents to a folder.
2: Double-click the "Autoruns.exe".
3: Click on the "Everything" tab
4: Remove any entries that mention "File Not Found" by right-clicking the entry and select Delete.
5: Go to File then to Export As.
6: Save AutoRuns.txt file to know location.
7: Attach to your next reply.

After posting the requested log please do the following.....



Go to
Start and then to Run
Type in Chkdsk /r Note the space between k and /
Click Enter ...It will probably ask if you want to do this on the next reboot...click Y
If the window doesn't shutdown on its own then reboot the system manually. On reboot the system will start the chkdsk operation
This one will take longer then chkdsk /f

Note... there are 5 stages...
It may appear to hang at a certain percent for a hour or more or even back up and go over the same area...this is normal...
DO NOT SHUT YOUR COMPUTER DOWN WHILE CHKDSK IS RUNNING OR YOU CAN HAVE SEVERE PROBLEMS
This can take several hours to complete.
When completed it will boot the system back into windows.

Let me know if this fixes the problem
  • 0

#6
Falcons84

Falcons84

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 264 posts
Attached File  AutoRuns.txt   106.71KB   103 downloads

is this right? I couldnt find Export as when i clicked on file.

Edited by Falcons84, 29 October 2009 - 03:14 PM.

  • 0

#7
Falcons84

Falcons84

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 264 posts
just did that Chkdsk /r thing and it didnt reboot itself so I rebooted it. Then it started and then I couldnt read what it all said but it said Volume is clean and then a bunch of other stuff I missed. Was it only suppose to take 5-10 seconds?
  • 0

#8
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
It should have taken longer then that.



Open Autoruns, click on "Logon" tab, and UN-check:


+ "HP Software Update"
+ "ISUSPM Startup"
+ "ISUSScheduler"
+ "iTunesHelper"
+ "QuickTime Task"
+ "SunJavaUpdateSched"
+ "AIM" "AOL Instant Messenger"
+ "MSMSGS"

All these programs can be started when you need them but do not need to run autorunning.



The next file needs to be manually disabled and is only needed if you use multi language on your keyboard. If you do then skip the step.


To turn off just ctfmon.exe go to:

Control Panel then to Regional and Language Options

Click on the Languages Tab then click the Details button

Click on the Advanced tab

Check the box that says Turn off advanced text services option

Click A and then OK



When done restart computer and then:

Download TFC by OldTimer to your desktop
  • Please double-click TFC.exe to run it. (Note: If you are running on Vista, right-click on the file and choose Run As Administrator).
  • It will close all programs when run, so make sure you have saved all your work before you begin.
  • Click the Start button to begin the process. Depending on how often you clean temp files, execution time should be anywhere from a few seconds to a minute or two. Let it run uninterrupted to completion.
  • Once it's finished it should reboot your machine. If it does not, please manually reboot the machine yourself to ensure a complete clean.


Download Auslogics Defrag from the link in my signature below. Auslogics Defrag in my opinion is better because:
It does a more comprehensive job at Defragging
It will actually show you what it is doing
At the end of working it will show you how much speed you picked up
You can view a online log of the files that Auslogics defragged

  • 0

#9
Falcons84

Falcons84

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 264 posts
ok, im finished doing the disk defrag thing
  • 0

#10
Falcons84

Falcons84

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 264 posts
I skipped HP_Recovery because it said it would affect the scan or something like that. Also, I what is the HP_Recovery for? Because ever since i got this nasty virus whenever i would turn my computer on this screen would pop up and show HP_Recovery and Local Disk.
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Wait you have a active virus infection right now?
This may be what is causing all the problems with your system. Ok I just checked and it seems the Malware Tech did in a way say you are healthy.
When you reboot are you still getting the HP recovery message?
  • 0

#12
Falcons84

Falcons84

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 264 posts
Yes, I still get the HP Recovery Message. Does that mean i still have the virus? I checked with azarl and he said everything looks fine.
  • 0

#13
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
The recovery is popping up because something has changed with the system it doesn't like.
Let me ask have you tried to go into it and see if it will do a Non destructive recovery?
If it will do this then it would be worth it.
This type of recovery would keep your data safe and replace corrupted or missing system files.
Please don't continue if it wants to format as we can try a few other things before getting to that point including backing up your data.
  • 0

#14
Falcons84

Falcons84

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 264 posts
Ive never tried going into it. And have never been in it.

when it asks me which one i want to go in should i go into HP_Recovery? then what?
  • 0

#15
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Once you go in to it then look for a option that says non destructive recovery.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP