Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

To Bachelor or Not To Bachelor

• Please log in to reply

dinotech

dinotech

• PipPip
  • 75 posts
I'll be approaching 40 in November. Yeah, I'm sharing my age. It's not like you couldn't figure it out at some point.

I've been a computer tech for 15 years plus. I've only started to get into web development and networking.

I have not finished my degree, and I have a hefty student loan to show for what I have accomplished (mostly in programming).

I have registered at Western Governors University and I am looking to finish my degree in Info Security.

A friend of mine thinks I should not go into more debt to finish a degree; with my skills, experience, and a few certifications, I could be working in a shop at a decent salary.

I want to get G2G member opinion's on whether I should continue pursuit of a degree, or just stay the course on certifications and experience.

Note: I understand that it depends on what I want to do, but I want to hear opinions and experience from the membership.

Thanks

Dino

Advertisements

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Community Leader
  • 26,047 posts
  • MVP
a lot of people throw the phrase "you shouldn't go into debt" around a lot.....when what they mean to say is "you shouldn't go into UNMANAGEABLE debt for no reason"

education is almost always a worthwhile expense....but you have to isolate the reason for the education....