Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Virtual Memory !


  • Please log in to reply

#331
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
You can have as many browser as you want as long as you don't run them at the same time for very long. This will use more memory and as we already know you are low on that right now.
  • 0

Advertisements


#332
simplee55

simplee55

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 539 posts
Great, thank you !!!

Forgot to ask, have gotten any comments on Google's Chrome by any of the people here, or have you gotten any feedback on it from anywhere ???

Edited by simplee55, 20 November 2009 - 10:10 PM.

  • 0

#333
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
A lot of people like it. I would be interested in finding out how you like it. I know how hard it is for you to learn something new so if you like it and it is easy to learn then I can recommend it to those who want something easier to use. :) :)
  • 0

#334
simplee55

simplee55

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 539 posts
I couldnt wait, :) I just downloaded it and will get back to you as soon as I give it a look over once or twice.
  • 0

#335
simplee55

simplee55

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 539 posts
Hello Runner:

I have a question.

Do you remember when you gave me this:

1. Go to C:\Program files\Mozilla Firefox and delete everything (and including) the "mozilla Firefox" folder.
2. Go to start...and then run and type in %APPDATA%\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\ and hit ok. That will bring you to your FF profiles. You can delete that folder.


What I'm inquiring about is this:
%APPDATA%\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles

Can you give me this or something like this to get rid of any files and folders that may be remaining on my PC.

Reason being, I play a lot of TRIAL games that have to be paid for, and after I'm finished playing, I UNINSTALL them. I don't want any traces of the game left on the PC, just in case I want to INSTALL the game again, so

I want to know if there is a PATH like the one above, or any path that you can give me to find the folder(s) that each game has, so I can delete it completely off of my PC, that's if the Uninstall hasn't already taken care of it.

I hope I'm clear about what I'm asking for.

Also, my PC is still running very well, thought you should know.

Thank U !!!

simplee :)

Edited by simplee55, 23 November 2009 - 01:49 PM.

  • 0

#336
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
In case what 123Runner doesn't work try this.

Download and install Revo Uninstaller
  • Double click the Revo Uninstaller icon on your desktop to start the program
  • Scroll through the listed programs and Right Click on the program you wish to uninstall
  • From the pop out menu choose Uninstall
  • Click Yes to the confirmation dialogue
  • In the next window select the Advanced mode
  • Click Next to start uninstalling the program
  • Answer Yes to confirm the uninstall
  • When the program has completed the four steps, click Next to allow the program to search for leftovers
  • Once complete, click Next, then Finish
  • Repeat the above steps for any other programs you wish to remove.


BTW I'm glad to hear everything is working for you
  • 0

#337
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,307 posts
Hi simplee55.

Also, my PC is still running very well, thought you should know

That is great news.

I am afraid that you may not get all remnants of games and programs off the computer.
While an uninstall should remove all remnants, it does not always happen.
Some programs are better than others at cleaning themselves up.
Some will tell you during an uninstall that it could not remove all folders and will tell you where they are and what to safely delete.
Others will leave bits of info in the registry (and it will remain there).

To clean up programs after you uninstall them, pay attention to where they install and the folder names they are creating.
Usually they will default to c:\program files\<name of program>.
Then after the uninstall you can look there and delete anything left.

Hope this helps.

123runner
  • 0

#338
simplee55

simplee55

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 539 posts
Hi rshaffer:

A question.

Christopher's PC has NO DVD/CD devices on the system, the message I keep getting is, there's only a PLAYER, but that's not true either, because I tried playing a DVD and CD, and it didn't work.

So, is there any way of downloading the devices that he needs to operate the system ???

I also think that I need to do a Bootable disc. for that PC, what do you think??
  • 0

#339
simplee55

simplee55

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 539 posts

In case what 123Runner doesn't work try this.

Download and install Revo Uninstaller

  • Double click the Revo Uninstaller icon on your desktop to start the program
  • Scroll through the listed programs and Right Click on the program you wish to uninstall
  • From the pop out menu choose Uninstall
  • Click Yes to the confirmation dialogue
  • In the next window select the Advanced mode
  • Click Next to start uninstalling the program
  • Answer Yes to confirm the uninstall
  • When the program has completed the four steps, click Next to allow the program to search for leftovers
  • Once complete, click Next, then Finish
  • Repeat the above steps for any other programs you wish to remove.


BTW I'm glad to hear everything is working for you


rshaffer:

I had NO idea that you had posted the ABOVE.

Let me tell you what happened, because I thought I was imaging things. After I asked Runner about the FireFox PATH he posted to me several days ago about deleting any of the leftover games I had installed, I got a E-mail notification that had YOUR name on the Notification, so I clicked and it took me to the answer that Runner posted to my question to him. So after I read the answer from Runner, I went back to my E-mail and there it was, a Notification with your name on it and NOT Runner.

This is actually the 2nd time this has happened, I didn't say anything about it because I thought it was something I was doing wrong, but, that's how I got it.

So, this is the first (1st) time I'm seeing your post. Go figure.

Edited by simplee55, 25 November 2009 - 12:14 PM.

  • 0

#340
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Uually I never worry about it. I go back a couple of messages anyway and start reading to catch up. With christophers system is it a dvd\cd or just a cdrw?
  • 0

Advertisements


#341
simplee55

simplee55

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 539 posts

With christophers system is it a dvd\cd or just a cdrw?


I don't know, how can you tell if it's a cdrw?? And what is a cdrw anyways :)
  • 0

#342
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
cdrw is cd rewritable
basic cd player with the capability to make cd's and\or capable of erasing cd's and writing new information to them.
Does the front of the player says DVD?
  • 0

#343
simplee55

simplee55

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 539 posts
There are two drives; The 1st drive says Expansion Bay.
You hit the button to open that one and it does nothing;

The 2nd drive says DVD-writer/CD-writer. The drawer opens to this one.
But when I inserted a DVD/CD in the 2nd one, it did nothing,
no loading and no movement.

Before I disconnected his PC, I tried to download Microsoft's Diagnostic Tool,
and a box pops up and basically says that not enough memory to write on.
The PC is not hooked up and can tell you no more about it unless I connect it.
  • 0

#344
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK well it looks like when ever you are ready we can start working on it.
To make things easier on you we can continue in this topic if you would like.
We will need to have Christopher's system online to do alot of th work. The only other way is for you to download the programs on your system Not a great ideal)
I would prefer we are using the system with the issue.
The first thing we will need to do is to get a Everest Report which will tell me a lot about the system right away.
  • 0

#345
simplee55

simplee55

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 539 posts
That sounds great.

I can hook the PC up sometime early Sat and can start then if you choose.

In the meantime, I'm having problems with Outlook Express.

It's taking too long opening up.

Because I do a lot of Copy and Paste, I've noticed that when I want to enlarge the text, it won't enlarge, the text stays the same. Also, when I highlight something, it appears like the highlight goes crazy, like it won't let me control it.

Does it sound like Outlook is corrupt and if it is, is there some thing that can be done about it??

Edited by simplee55, 25 November 2009 - 06:04 PM.

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP