Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Repair Installation - Setup doesn't show C: \Windows...

• Please log in to reply

Jerry23

Jerry23

• PipPip
  • 44 posts
Hello,

I need some help. I messed up my Registry about a week ago & could not boot. Let me preface this by saying that even though I have been using a computer for many years, I am a novice at trying to fix Windows problems.

I tried to do a system restore using cd \, cd system~1, cd resto~1. I got back that it could not find the file. I guess this means that it could not find a viable restore point. This may be because my System Restore has not been working for a long time.

Having failed to do a system restore, I tried to do a system repair, using a Windows XP CD - sp2 level. I performed a chkdsk /p & fixboot. I eventually did a system repair, using R & enter keys - I am a little fuzzy on exactly what I did. But it took a long time to read in all the files & I eventually got a screen to enter my Windows 25 digit code. When I finally booted in Windows mode I got an error screen:

APPLICATION ERROR

OFVISEX caused an access violation in ntdll.dll at 0x7c9106c3. Click close to terminate the application. Click ignore to continue.

The computer appeared to work pretty well - a few IE freezes & Err - must shut down. I did a few things to get my computer back to the level I wanted. When I tried to update all my windows files to sp3+, using the MSFT web sites, IE vs 6 would not work - would not open. All white screens. Looked strange. Malwarebytes would not run.