Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Unable to Right Click in Start Menu

• Please log in to reply

RTX

RTX

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Hi, I'm new. I'm here with a problem I can't fix.
I am unable to right click in the Start Menu,
and I am running a Windows XP SP3 using a System Administrators account on an IBM T43 comp.

Right now I'm looking through things with ShellEx, but I'm new to that program and it's taking a long, long time, so if anyone has any fixes or tips ...

Solutions I have tried (which failed to work):

---My "Enable drag and drop" from
start menu button \ properties \ customize \ advanced\
is enabled. It did not help. Please don't suggest this as an answer - I've checked and unchecked and checked and it hasn't helped.

--- The "NoStartMenuChange" dword value from:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer
is set to 0. No, it did not help either.

---Changing Mouse primary and secondary settings had no effect.

---"Kellys Korners" XP Tweak "restore right click properties" (number #203) did not work either.

---Don't bother suggesting a system restore.

My eternal gratitude to the genius who can fix my problems

Edited by RTX, 21 November 2009 - 11:40 AM.

Advertisements

othersteve

othersteve

• PipPipPip
  • 470 posts
Hey RTX,

Worth a shot:

1. Click Start > Run > type regsvr32 /i shell32.dll