Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

LINUX HELP

• Please log in to reply

i0vvny0u

i0vvny0u

• PipPip
  • 25 posts
hey guys!

well im a new student in college right now who wants to learn everything about using the operating system to its full extent..ive heard that using linux can teach a person many things like about command prompts and such...i was wondering if anyone could help me getting started with this...i use windows vista home premium and would like to start using linux on a virtual pc if possible..can anyone walk me through the steps to get a linux os on my virtual pc so i can start fooling around with it and be able to learn all i can about linux and commands...any type of help is appreciated...i just want to learn! plz help!

Advertisements

fleamailman

fleamailman

Member 2k

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,383 posts
I would start with an easy linux like "Mint" linux first, thought there are many types out there, and perhaps if you have a friend who already has linux installed on his machine, choose his type linux then as nothing is better than a physical friend for starting out on linux