Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Building new PC, what do you guys think of the parts?

• Please log in to reply

dnaghitorabi

dnaghitorabi

• PipPip
  • 28 posts
I'm building a new gaming PC for my friend, and it is my first build. His budget (including monitor, keyboard, and mouse) is less than $1000. What do you think of this part list?

Case: COOLER MASTER Elite RC-310-BWN1-GP Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower

Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-MA785GMT-UD2H AM3 AMD 785G HDMI Micro ATX AMD

Video Card: EVGA 01G-P3-1155-TR GeForce GTS 250 1GB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported

Power Supply: Antec BP550 Plus 550W Continuous Power ATX12V V2.2 Modular Active PFC (he wanted modular cabling)

Processor: AMD Athlon II X4 620 Propus 2.6GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Processor Model ADX620WFGIBOX

Memory: G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F3-10600CL8D-4GBHK

Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
Model #:WD6401AALS

Keyboard: Logitech Deluxe 250 Black USB Wired Standard Keyboard - OEM

Mouse: Logitech MX518 8 Buttons 1 x Wheel USB Wired Optical Gaming Mouse

Monitor: Acer H213H bmid Black 21.5" 5ms HDMI Full HD 1080P Widescreen 16:9 LCD Monitor (same monitor I have, it's good)

DVD Drive: LITE-ON Black SATA DVD-ROM Drive Model iHDS118-04 - OEM

Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit 1-Pack for System Builders - OEM