Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Browsing Slow Down/Hang ups

• Please log in to reply

msbug

msbug

• PipPipPip
  • 163 posts
I am a little above novice so please have patience. I have Windows XP, Spyware Blaster. CCleaner, AVG 8.5, and Malwarebytes. I mainly use Mozilla. I have done scans and nothing shows as infected. My computer hangs up when browsing. It will start out quickly and be fine, then as the day progresses it will hang up when trying to open sites. This started happening the weekend. I had Zone Alarm but uninstalled it. I looked for the True Vector process, as I know it can still run in the background and cause problems, but it doesn't show. I also uninstalled the new AVG 9 as I thought that might be conflicting. I reinstalled AVG 8.5. Below is my hijackthis file. Thank you for any help.

Also when opening Task manager on processes, firefox has 65,148 mem usuage and then there is one that says System at 85,516 mem usuage. I don't remember that there before. Could something be going on in the background causing the slow down. Thanks.

Advertisements

rshaffer61

rshaffer61

• 34,114 posts
Hello msbug.... Welcome to GeeksToGo, :) :) :)

I'm sorry to hear about your issue. We will try to help you resolve this as soon as possible.
Please understand we are all volunteers and we are not here all the time. Sometimes it may be a extended amount of time to get back to you. If it has been more then 3 days please shoot me a PM and I will try to get back to you quickly then.
Please do the following and post the requested log...