Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

CMOS battery

• Please log in to reply

Axelion

Axelion

• PipPipPip
  • 179 posts
Okay...I'm not an expert in CMOS battery....Recently I was going to swap my hard drive to my old one because I'm going to send back the current one(referring to other thread). When I unplugged everything then plugged all the cable again, my motherboard won't start up. The CMOS battery makes a sound bip.....bip.....bip every 2-3 seconds. I thought.....wait a minute...this happened before long ago when I removed everything inside the case and clean the dust...so I just pressed the CMOS battery hard with massage motion...so I did that then I started the computer up again. Luckily, the motherboard runs =)
So my question is...what's the problem?? Could it be the battery was actually moved inside its cage?
Do I have to put out and back in the battery into its cage?? Well I don't know how to do that but maybe youtube will help me.

Advertisements

123Runner

123Runner

Member 4k

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,527 posts
I do not know if you are actually talking about the CMOS battery because it is about the size of a quarter and is held in to its socket with a little clip.
Also I don't believe you need the battery to actually run. It holds the settings for startup while power is off. If you pull the battery, you will get default settings.

Are you sure you aren't talking about the CPU?

EDIT: Added link
http://wiki.answers....the_cmos_needed

Edited by 123Runner, 10 December 2009 - 03:27 PM.

Axelion

Axelion

• Topic Starter