Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

I'm new here... hello... and I need help...

• Please log in to reply

shaggytan

shaggytan

• Pip
  • 6 posts
Hey guys, I'm new here. I'm not very good with comps.

Anyhow, I'm trying to run my cpu on my hdtv via one of those dvi-hdmi cables, with an extra cable for sound.

I've tried about everything. I just can't get my comp to work on resolution 1920X1080.

Issues
- Screen size spill over border (corrected by tv settings - Just Scan)
- Too "Sharp"... is that called overscan? Everything's just way too sharp.
- Colors are very bright... my reds are waaay too red, and my whites are glaring, even with brightness turned low.

What's weird is, it works on 1360X768. Everything's fine, but everything's too large for me to use comfortably.

Details you guys might need

- Windows Vista Business Service Pack 2
- Nvidia GeForce 8800 GT
- Intel® Core™2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz 2.40GHz

Er... my tv's a Samsung LA32A550, if that's any use...

Anymore details, please ask... and thanks in advance for the help...

Advertisements

Spyderturbo007

Spyderturbo007

• PipPipPip
  • 760 posts