Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

NVIDIA nvata.sys IDE/SATA driver Issue

• Please log in to reply

Kilika

Kilika

• PipPip
  • 29 posts
It seems I have a known issue with my NVIDIA nForce4 IDE/SATA nvata.sys driver as it relates to the HDD. So far, I haven’t found a solution.

IDE driver: nvata.sys (version 5.10.200.552)

In my case, I’ve been running this eVGA GeForce 7950 GT for nearly 4 years with no issues at all on a ASUS P5N32-SLI Deluxe mobo, and 2GB of Corsair DDR2. I’m running only one card.

Like my computer is doing, there is an issue with the IDE/SATA driver causing the pc to hard freeze up, and only disconnecting power will allow reboot. Occasionally there is a BSOD relating to IRQL or something to that effect. I’ve gotten a BSOD 3-4 times in many freezes.

My pc freezes only when I go online. If I stay offline, so far, it has yet to freeze up.

It varies somewhat how long online before it freezes, from 5 minutes to sometimes 15-20 minutes.

Some have said they uninstalled the driver for the IDE/SATA and the problem stopped. That did not work for me. And I haven’t found any updated nvata.sys so far, and searched on NVIDIA site produce no results, yet it’s a known issue. Typical.

I have done the malware removal guide tips and no apparent bugs found(runs better now actually!), yet some have related this issue to being a bug of some sort. Well, it is buggy, but this problem doesn’t seem at all like a bug infection. It’s a new driver is needed issue.