Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Toshiba A200 satellite freezing


  • Please log in to reply

#1
jonesie48

jonesie48

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
Hi everyone,

I own a Toshiba satellite A200 (2 years old). In the past month or two, it has been freezing almost every time I use it. It freezes to the point where the mouse won't move, Caps lock key won't light up etc. I have to hold in power button to reset it.

I took it to a technician, who said it was probably the heat. He cleaned it out etc. But it doesn't seem to have been that. It still does it. Sometimes it does it on a cool night (the laptop is always on the desk, never on a lap or anything), so I'm almost certain it isn't heat.

Does anyone have the same problem, or a solution for it?

Intel® Core 2 Duo CPU
T5550 @ 1.83 GHz
2GB Ram
32 Bit Operating system
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Hello jonesie48.... Welcome to GeeksToGo,,
Let's take a look and see what we have here.

Download Autoruns from the link in my signature below:
1: Extract the Autoruns Zip file contents to a folder.
2: Double-click the "Autoruns.exe".
3: Click on the "Everything" tab
4: Remove any entries that mention "File Not Found" by right-clicking the entry and select Delete.
5: Go to File then to Export As or Save in some versions.
6: Save AutoRuns.txt file to known location like your Desktop.
7: Attach to your next reply.


Download and install Free Everest Home Edition
Open it.
1: In left pane expand Computer folder.
2: Click once on Summary
3: In upper menu, go Report
4: And then to Quick Report-Summary
5: Save it in text file, and paste it in your next post.
Click the + by computer, click on Sensor. Get a screenshot and post it so I can check your temps and voltages...

DO NOT INCLUDE ANYTHING UNDER THE LINE THAT SAYS "DEBUG- PCI"


.

  • 0

#3
jonesie48

jonesie48

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
Thanks for the reply.

I did all the things you asked (was I meant to delete all text under the Debug pci heading? If not, I'll do it again with doing that).

Attached Thumbnails

  • sensor.jpg

Attached Files


  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Autoruns and Everest report looks pretty good. let's look at some other issues.
Go to
Start and then to Run
Type in Chkdsk /r Note the space between k and /
Click Enter ...It will probably ask if you want to do this on the next reboot...click Y
If the window doesn't shutdown on its own then reboot the system manually. On reboot the system will start the chkdsk operation
This one will take longer then chkdsk /f

Note... there are 5 stages...
It may appear to hang at a certain percent for a hour or more or even back up and go over the same area...this is normal...
DO NOT SHUT YOUR COMPUTER DOWN WHILE CHKDSK IS RUNNING OR YOU CAN HAVE SEVERE PROBLEMS
This can take several hours to complete.
When completed it will boot the system back into windows.

Let me know if this fixes the problem
  • 0

#5
jonesie48

jonesie48

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
Thanks for that. I did it. The laptop froze again, though.

Any other ideas?

Edited by jonesie48, 29 December 2009 - 02:24 AM.

  • 0

#6
jonesie48

jonesie48

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
Double post. Sorry.

Edited by jonesie48, 29 December 2009 - 02:24 AM.

  • 0

#7
jonesie48

jonesie48

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
Anybody?
  • 0

#8
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I'm sorry for the late reply.

Download Speedfan (The download link is to the right), and install it. Once it's installed, run the program and post here the information it shows.
The information I want you to post is the stuff that is circled in the example picture I have attached.
To make sure we are getting all the correct information it would help us if you were to attach a screenshot like the one below of your Speedfan results.

To do a screenshot please have click on your Print Screen on your keyboard.
  • It is normally the key above your number pad between the F12 key and the Scroll Lock key
  • Now go to Start and then to All Programs
  • Scroll to Accessories and then click on Paint
  • In the Empty White Area click and hold the CTRL key and then click the V
  • Go to the File option at the top and click on Save as
  • Save as file type JPEG and save it to your Desktop
  • Attach it to your next reply

Posted Image
  • 0

#9
jonesie48

jonesie48

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
No need to apologise. You're being very generous.

I downloaded speedfan and ran it. I've attached the screen shot, but it didn't seem to have the same information as in your screenshot. It is almost like I don't have a working fan. Is that possible?

Thanks again.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Untitled.jpg

Edited by jonesie48, 30 December 2009 - 02:10 AM.

  • 0

#10
jonesie48

jonesie48

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
Double post.

Edited by jonesie48, 30 December 2009 - 02:08 AM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#11
jonesie48

jonesie48

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
Triple post (it froze during posting, not sure why).

Edited by jonesie48, 30 December 2009 - 02:09 AM.

  • 0

#12
jonesie48

jonesie48

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
Quadruple post. Sorry. Moderator should delete if possible.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Untitled.jpg

Edited by jonesie48, 30 December 2009 - 02:09 AM.

  • 0

#13
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Ok not seeing any fans but temps look good.
Go Start and then to Run ("Start Search" in Vista),
Type in: sfc /scannow
Click OK (Enter in Vista).
Have Windows CD/DVD handy.
If System File Checker (sfc) finds any errors, it may ask you for the CD/DVD.
If sfc does not find any errors in Windows XP, it will simply quit, without any message.
In Vista you will receive the following message: "Windows resource protection did not find any integrity violations".

For Vista users ONLY: Navigate to C:\Windows\Logs\CBS folder. You'll see CBS.log file.
Usually, it's pretty big file, so upload it to Flyupload, and post download link.


If you don't have Windows CD....
This applies mostly to Windows XP, since Vista rarely requires use of its DVD while running "sfc"
Note This method will not necessarily work as well, as when using Windows CD, because not always ALL system files are backed up on your hard drive. Also, backed up files may be corrupted as well.

Go Start and then Run
type in regedit and click OK


Navigate to the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup

You will see various entries Values on the right hand side.

The one we want is called: SourcePath

It probably has an entry pointing to your CD-ROM drive, usually D and that is why it is asking for the XP CD.
All we need to do is change it to: C:
Now, double click the SourcePatch setting and a new box will pop up.
Change the drive letter from your CD drive to your root drive, usually C:
Close Registry Editor.

Now restart your computer and try sfc /scannow again!


Thanks to Broni for the instructions



Revised and Simplified:


Do you have a valid XP CD?

If so, place it in your CD ROM drive and follow the instructions below:
  • Click on Start and select Run... type sfc /scannow (note the space) (Let this run undisturbed until the window with the blue progress bar goes away)

SFC
- Which stands for System File Checker,
retrieves the correct version of the file from %Systemroot%\System32\Dllcache or the Windows installation source files, and then replaces the incorrect file.
If you want to see what was replaced, right-click My Computer and click on Manage. In the new window that appears, expand the Event Viewer (by clicking on the + symbol next to it) and then click on System.
  • 0

#14
jonesie48

jonesie48

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
Thanks. No problems on the system file scan. I did it twice and got nothing.

Here is the link for the CBS log: CBS.log - 25.5 Mb
  • 0

#15
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
1. Download - Pre-Compiled Bootable ISO (.zip)
2. Unzip downloaded memtest86+-2.11.iso.zip file.
3. Inside, you'll find memtest86+-2.11.iso file.
4. Download, and install ImgBurn: http://www.imgburn.com/
5. Insert blank CD into your CD drive.
6. Open ImgBurn, and click on Write image file to disc
7. Click on Browse for a file... icon:

Posted Image

8. Locate memtest86+-2.11.iso file, and click Open button.
9. Click on ImgBurn green arrow to start burning bootable memtest86 CD:

Posted Image

10. Once the CD is created, boot from it, and memtest will automatically start to run.

The running program will look something like this depending on the size and number of ram modules installed:


Posted Image

It's recommended to run 5-6 passes. Each pass contains very same 8 tests.

This will show the progress of the test. It can take a while. Be patient, or leave it running overnight.

Posted Image

The following image is the test results area:

Posted Image

The most important item here is the “errors” line. If you see ANY errors, even one, most likely, you have bad RAM.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP