Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Windows 7 uses 3 gb of memory or more in idle mode!

• Please log in to reply

Treboras

Treboras

• Pip
  • 6 posts
My Windows 7 uses 3 gb of memory or more in idle mode!

This can not ne normal :)

please help :)

Advertisements

Iconicmoronic

Iconicmoronic

• PipPip
  • 92 posts
i'm no expert, but are you part of a network? thus possibly a cluster? I ask because in a cluster, computers can share resources. Viruses place programs on your computer that can execute commands which use your resources for a purpose unidentified.
have you scanned for malware? geekstogo.com has some hard corps malware TRAINED (as in a program) moderators and community members.
have you run memory diagnostics? you can check the downloads sections of geekstogo.com for some software tools to do the last two things and run network sharing center to check your network membership status.

3gig in idle mode doesn't sounds right to me, mine doesn't use more than 500mb and i've got a 64 bit edition windows.

you can also get a program to free up system memory, and see if that cycle continues itself. glary utilities seems pretty efficient and is available at download.com

i can't give you a more technical answer, as i said, i'm no expert.

Treboras

Treboras

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Im not in a Cluster and I scanned with Norton for viruses and got no results. Also i don't see any suspicious tasks in the manager.

Iconicmoronic

Iconicmoronic

• PipPip
  • 92 posts