Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

ethernet adapter getting no power

• Please log in to reply

skilla

skilla

• Pip
  • 9 posts
Hi all
I'm skilla from barbados and i am a pc novice hope you guys annd gals can help me out.
when ever i plug my cable into a wall ethernet outlet i get not power at all no lights no connection no internet nothing, but if i plug it into a switch or a dsl modem it works well can any one help me with this . I have an acer laptop with a realtek RTL8139/810x family fast ethernet NIC adapter just read that out of divice manager but its latin to me .

Hoping someone can help me out
Skilla

Advertisements

Spyderturbo007

Spyderturbo007

• PipPipPip
  • 760 posts
I know this sounds stupid, but are you sure the wall jack you are using is live?

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Community Leader
  • 26,047 posts
  • MVP
spyder is correct...if you plug the cable into a router/switch/modem and it works perfectly but plugging it into the wall jack results in bubkis, then the wall jack is dead

skilla

skilla

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Hi guys and thanks for your replys. The wall outlet is live I pluged a desktop into it and it works fine so thats not the problem, any other suggestons

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Community Leader
  • 26,047 posts
  • MVP
did you use the same ethernet cable to plug the desktop into the wall as you did the laptop?

skilla

skilla

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Yes I did, and then I tried two new cables the I brought and still no power.

dsenette