Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

application will not initialize


  • Please log in to reply

#16
Rick1931

Rick1931

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
Hi again - here it is. There were many, many 'file not found' entries.

Attached Files


  • 0

Advertisements


#17
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

Hi again - here it is. There were many, many 'file not found' entries.



This could be a big part of your issue but we will see what else is here.
  • 0

#18
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Not much here but I found 3 that can be stopped from auto starting.

Open Autoruns, click on "Logon" tab, and UN-check:

"AdobeUpdater6"
"MSMSGS"


The next file needs to be manually disabled and is only needed if you use multi language on your keyboard. If you do then skip the step.


To turn off just ctfmon.exe go to:

Control Panel then to Regional and Language Options

Click on the Languages Tab then click the Details button

Click on the Advanced tab

Check the box that says Turn off advanced text services option

Click A and then OK



When done restart computer and then:



Download TFC by OldTimer to your desktop
  • Please double-click TFC.exe to run it. (Note: If you are running on Vista, right-click on the file and choose Run As Administrator).
  • It will close all programs when run, so make sure you have saved all your work before you begin.
  • Click the Start button to begin the process. Depending on how often you clean temp files, execution time should be anywhere from a few seconds to a minute or two. Let it run uninterrupted to completion.
  • Once it's finished it should reboot your machine. If it does not, please manually reboot the machine yourself to ensure a complete clean.


Download Auslogics Defrag from the link in my signature below. Auslogics Defrag in my opinion is better because:
It does a more comprehensive job at Defragging
It will actually show you what it is doing
At the end of working it will show you how much speed you picked up
You can view a online log of the files that Auslogics defragged


After completing all steps let me know how your system now runs

Edited by rshaffer61, 14 January 2010 - 02:12 PM.

  • 0

#19
Rick1931

Rick1931

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
thanks - we have guests here for dinner so I will probably get to this later tonight. I am vacationing in Florida and believe we are in the same time zone. Thanks.
  • 0

#20
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Enjoy your guest and I believe you are in Eastern time so you would be a hour ahead of me.
No problem though as I am usually online till about 10pm my time.
  • 0

#21
Rick1931

Rick1931

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
Hi - well, the 'restsrt' error message is gone and my start-up is much faster. I do not understand how 'geekstogo' dose what it does. You have been SOOOOOOOOOOOO helpful and if I had taken this laptop to Staples or other repair shop it would have cost big bucks. How can I help 'geekstogo' stay alive?

I hate to ask anymore questions - but I will anyway -

1. can I install Systems Mechanic again? I will never touch my registry with it, but what do you suggest a person does to keep the registry up-to-date?

2. What do you recommend for a syatem health program? eg - how often to defrag etc.

Regards and many thanks,
Rick
  • 0

#22
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
If you want yes you can use system mechanic and no please do not use the registry part.
I personally recommend cleaning Temp files and Defragging at least once a week.
You can keep the TFC and Auslogics Defrag for this.

Congratulations. :) for a successful resolution for your issue.

You are very welcome. I'm glad we could help and please let us know how everything works out for you.
If there is anything else we can do to help please feel free to ask. I appreciate that you allowed me to assist you with your issue and for your patience.
Thank you for choosing GeeksToGo for help. :) :)
This issue now appears to be resolved.


If other members are reading this and have a similar problem please begin a New Topic and someone will assist you as soon as possible


If you are happy with the service I provided, please consider making a donation to GeeksToGo to support the Free Technical Support offered.
Go HERE to make a donation.

  • 0

#23
Rick1931

Rick1931

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
Hey Guys - after your last reply I was out for a while and just got back and installed Systems Mechanic and guess what, it still does not load.

You solved one issue but still 1 to go.

Ant ideas?
  • 0

#24
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Is this a retail version of the installation disk?
Is it a burned or downloaded copy?
I can give you free alternatives to what System Mechanic does but I understand you want to use it so I'm trying to find a resolution for it.
Did you pay for it and if so have you contacted them for a replacement disk or for technical support with this issue?
It could be a known problem. Since revo didn't help and there seems to be no left over files I don't know why it won't install correctly.
The one option we have not tried is a system restore back to before the issue started.
  • 0

#25
Rick1931

Rick1931

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
Hi - It is a purchased downloaded version that has worked for over 2 years before I loaded and used RegGenie. I contacted SM and here was the reply -
"Dear Rick,
1. Save the attached file I have sent you to the Windows desktop.
2. Double-click on it and run the exe file it contains. It will look exactly like the System Mechanic installer and prompt you for your activation key.
3. Once you have completed running it you should have no issues starting System Mechanic."

When it did not fix the problem, I told them so, no answer.

I am quite willing to accept your offer of an alternative rather than take anymore of your time trying to get SM to run,
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
You are not taking up my time as this is what I enjoy doing. :)
My offer is there for your benefit if you chose to accept it once there is no other way to rectify this. :)
What about the option of a system restore? Is that something you are open to trying?
I do not want to sound redundant but your experience with this RegGenie is exactly why we here at GTG do not advise the use of those programs. I am very sorry it has caused such a problem for you but by restoring back to a date prior to RegGenie being installed may and i say MAY resolve this issue.
There would be no residual affects of the program and maybe System Mechanic will then actually be there to use. :)
  • 0

#27
Rick1931

Rick1931

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
Hi - I have thought about a systems restore but have been 'chicken' to try. In fact, before I uninstalled RegGenie there was an option to restore to a date when I knew SM worked but with the option there was a HUGE WARNING that bad things could happen with a systems restore.

Since I have never done a systems restore before, tell me the down side. If it does not help running Systems Mechanic, no problem. My concern is that nothing will run after a systems restore.

The only programs that I have installed (other than RegGenie) since December 16, 2009 are the ones you suggested during our sojourn together,

Lets 'give it a go' - I like to learn new things.
  • 0

#28
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
How To Restore back to a earlier date.


To do a System Restore follow these steps:

 Click Start and then to All Programs
 Scroll to Accessories and then System Tools
 Click on System Restore
 A Welcome screen will come up and you need to click on Restore My Computer To A Earlier Date
 Then click on Next
 Now you will see in the window Select A Restore Point. From here select a date a couple of days before the problem started.
 Then click Next
 On the Confirm Restore Point Selection window verify the Restore Point you chose is correct.
 Close all open programs and click Next
 The computer will now automatically shut down and reboot. When it restarts you will see ”Restoration Complete” page and then click OK
 Once you have made sure that everything is now running correctly then please reply back with the results.
If this does not work then follow the next steps to do a Repair Installation
  • 0

#29
Rick1931

Rick1931

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts
After I did the system restore I received an email from SM saying to do a safe mode start and try to load SM - that did not work, nor did the system restore.

What about restoring back to December 15th.(Before RegGenie was installed) rather than just a couple of days before the problem started?
  • 0

#30
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Yep go back before RegGenie.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP