Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Having problem with speed on computer


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked

#46
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I had another tech look through this and here is a suggestion he gave.

I recommend, you remove NVIDIA ActiveArmor hardware firewall built into nVidia nForce motherboard chipsets.
It's known for causing a lot of problems.

Open Notepad.
Copy, and paste text below:

QUOTE
c:
cd %windir%\system32\wbem\
net stop winmgmt /y
ping -n 10 127.0.0.1
rmdir /s /q repository
rmdir /s /q Logs
mkdir Logs
net start winmgm
ping -n 10 127.0.0.1
exit


Save it as nvidia.bat

Run it, by doubleclicking on nvidia.bat

Restart computer.


  • 0

Advertisements


#47
Nikolasr

Nikolasr

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
And if i dont see carefully in autoruns and deleted some in everything tab,can i have these problems?
  • 0

#48
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
The only thing you should have deleted was the entries that said No File Found
If you mistakenly did delete something that should not have been deleted then a Repair would be in order but i think there may be another way.
Let me know if the above instructions fix the problem and if not then we can try a different fix called sfc /scannow
This will repair, replace or install missing or corrupt system files.
  • 0

#49
Nikolasr

Nikolasr

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
I have tried this

Found services and startup,all are enabled..okay..then i run the bat ..and restarted...again notting.

I will try this now.
  • 0

#50
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Go Start and then to Run ("Start Search" in Vista),
Type in: sfc /scannow
Click OK (Enter in Vista).
Have Windows CD/DVD handy.
If System File Checker (sfc) finds any errors, it may ask you for the CD/DVD.
If sfc does not find any errors in Windows XP, it will simply quit, without any message.
In Vista you will receive the following message: "Windows resource protection did not find any integrity violations".

For Vista users ONLY: Navigate to C:\Windows\Logs\CBS folder. You'll see CBS.log file.
Usually, it's pretty big file, so upload it to Flyupload, and post download link.


If you don't have Windows CD....
This applies mostly to Windows XP, since Vista rarely requires use of its DVD while running "sfc"
Note This method will not necessarily work as well, as when using Windows CD, because not always ALL system files are backed up on your hard drive. Also, backed up files may be corrupted as well.

Go Start and then Run
type in regedit and click OK


Navigate to the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup

You will see various entries Values on the right hand side.

The one we want is called: SourcePath

It probably has an entry pointing to your CD-ROM drive, usually D and that is why it is asking for the XP CD.
All we need to do is change it to: C:
Now, double click the SourcePatch setting and a new box will pop up.
Change the drive letter from your CD drive to your root drive, usually C:
Close Registry Editor.

Now restart your computer and try sfc /scannow again!


Thanks to Broni for the instructions



Revised and Simplified:


Do you have a valid XP CD?

If so, place it in your CD ROM drive and follow the instructions below:
  • Click on Start and select Run... type sfc /scannow (note the space) (Let this run undisturbed until the window with the blue progress bar goes away)

SFC
- Which stands for System File Checker,
retrieves the correct version of the file from %Systemroot%\System32\Dllcache or the Windows installation source files, and then replaces the incorrect file.
If you want to see what was replaced, right-click My Computer and click on Manage. In the new window that appears, expand the Event Viewer (by clicking on the + symbol next to it) and then click on System.
  • 0

#51
Nikolasr

Nikolasr

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
haha this got me feeling crazy now

The scanner have completed and i think doesnt find anything cause got closed the cmd...and notting i restart login in to win 7 and again same problems.

What to do now?



BTW I WILL POST THE LOG NOW.IM UPLOADING

Edited by Nikolasr, 21 January 2010 - 05:08 PM.

  • 0

#52
Nikolasr

Nikolasr

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
I haved an problems on flyupload so here is on rapidshare
http://rapidshare.com/files/339013482/CBS.log.html

  • 0

#53
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

and notting i restart login in to win 7 and again same problems.and notting i restart login in to win 7 and again same problems.


Exactly what problems?
I thought we were back to the slow hd and the internet not connecting.
  • 0

#54
Nikolasr

Nikolasr

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
yes and several programs doesnt work,

btw did you check the log?

Edited by Nikolasr, 21 January 2010 - 05:30 PM.

  • 0

#55
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I tried to download it but it said the downloading was busy and to try back later

yes and several programs doesnt work,

Ok again what programs are not working ?
  • 0

Advertisements


#56
Nikolasr

Nikolasr

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
Lets start..

Logmein
LiveHelp Develop software

Defragment
System Restore

these programs have been worked before i start this theard,

And its showing something

Cannot start up help & windows support

Btw i uploaded to Megaupload and you dont have to wait too much at rapidshare(you will download)
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=LC2WUOMP

or here
http://www.sendspace.com/file/vxla7j


Waiting for your reply.

Edited by Nikolasr, 21 January 2010 - 05:43 PM.

  • 0

#57
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Something else is causing this problem.
What I have suggested would not have turned any of those programs off.
Is your Win7 a Genuine Microsoft Installation Disk or a downloaded burned copy?
  • 0

#58
Nikolasr

Nikolasr

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
I have downloaded burned copy
  • 0

#59
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Full version or RC?
  • 0

#60
Nikolasr

Nikolasr

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
Yes full version(first RC,then upgraded to last version),i mean last version of win 7 build 64bit(downloaded and upgraded 1-2 months ago)

Edited by Nikolasr, 21 January 2010 - 05:52 PM.

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP