Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Possible build for around £400

• Please log in to reply

Jezza32

Jezza32

• Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi, I'm new to PC building and wanted to see if this was a good possible system. All prices in UK£

CPU - AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition 3.2 GHz Socket AM3 8MB Cache Retail Boxed Processor - 122.01
Graphics card - Inno3D 9800GT Esave Edition 1GB GDDR3 DVI VGA HDMI Out PCI-E Graphics Card - 82.40
Case - Coolermaster Elite 335 Case -28.04
PSU - Sumvision 450W 20+4pin SATA Power Supply PSU - 15.32
RAM - Corsair 4GB Kit (2x2GB) DDR2 667MHz/PC2-5300 Memory Non-ECC Unbuffered CL5 Lifetime Warranty - 70.58
Motherboard - Gigabyte GA-M52L-S3P nForce 520LE Socket AM2+ 8 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard - 40.12
Hard-drive - Seagate ST3500418AS 500GB Hard Drive SATAII 7200rpm 16MB Cache - OEM - 37.41
Optical drive - Samsung SH-D162 16x48x DVD-ROM Internal IDE (Black) - 13.36

All from eBuyer, including vat and shipping
Total price = 409.24
I have all the extra's (mouse, speakers, moniter, OS's, spare IDE hard-drive)

Advertisements

Neil Jones

Neil Jones

Member 5k

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,476 posts
The Phenom X4 955 is not listed as supported by that board. In fact that board doesn't support any 125w processors.
Also don't buy a Sumvision branded power supply, they are crap and they will take everything out and then some more when they go bang.

If you up your budget to £450, you can have this power supply @ £40: