Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Installed a new HD and OS, Now my video card is acting strange?


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Alaster

Alaster

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
Hey guys, to explain my title, I recently had a Hard drive failure and so I went out to buy windows 7 and a new 500GB HD. Everything works except for my video card it seems (ATI Radeon 2400 PRO) . I have to unplug my video card, and switch to the Motherboards vga port.
I know its not my monitor, but there are vertical lines going down the screen that change color depending on the color below it.
I have tried cleaning dust, using ubuntu instead of Win7. What could be wrong? Is it my video card or simply the lack of a driver? It might be the driver because for one, I am using an Intel driver for the motherboard vga and it might be conflicting with the Ati card. Also, when i try to start windows with the card inserted it will not boot. And when i start in safemode it will stop loading at one file. (i will have to try this again soon and share which one it is.)
See pictures below and ask for more detail if needed. THANK YOU!!

http://img195.images...0122001348y.jpg
http://img691.images.../0122001822.jpg
http://img684.images.../0122001817.jpg
http://img23.imagesh.../0122001722.jpg
http://img693.images...0122001348a.jpg

Images are huge so i cant embed them.

Edited by Alaster, 23 January 2010 - 02:19 AM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#2
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,308 posts

I know its not my monitor

And how do you know its not the monitor?
Have you tried another monitor?

Does the problem exist when you use the onboard video?
If onboard video works, then as you suspect, its either a bad video card or a conflict in drivers.
  • 0

#3
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Tech Staff

  • Technician
  • 20,041 posts
I have a 512mb agp version of the card in my desktop which
has xp sp2 as the os, & when i 1st fitted it i had similar
problems when trying to use the drivers off the supplied cd
or catalyst centre, i would get the error message card not
supported by windows, i managed to solve this with a hotfix
off the sapphire website so maybe it is a common problem.
I hope this helps & that your troubles are quickly resolved.
  • 0

#4
Alaster

Alaster

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
@123Runner: Yeah I have used another monitor, so it is definitely not the monitor, so maybe it is the driver. And yes, the on board video works like I said.
@Phillpower2: Could you show me a page of the hotfix? I don't really understand what you're saying
  • 0

#5
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
One of two problems possible here and I am basing this off the 4th and 5th pictures you provided.
Bad driver which is highly unlikely considering the problem is happening outside of windows where no driver is used.
Bad video memory or chip for the same reason I indicated above.
Most likely it is the latter and the card needs to be replaced.

have tried cleaning dust, using Ubuntu instead of Win7. What could be wrong?

Considering Alaster has tried Ubuntu with the same results and Linux doesn't care about specific model number but would only load a ATI chipset driver then the issue most likely would be corrupted memory on the video card.

Edited by rshaffer61, 25 January 2010 - 08:54 AM.

  • 0

#6
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Tech Staff

  • Technician
  • 20,041 posts
Sorry you didn`t understand what i was getting at!
What i was pointing out was that the manufacturer
of the card, in my case Sapphire must be aware that
the drivers on the cd shipped with the card & the
drivers available to download at the ati catalyst
centre dont always work with windows, so they have
had to make an updated driver available themselves.
See www.sapphiretech.com for where i got mine.
Go to downloads at the top of the page & from there
you can choose the gfx card option, model of card &
your operating system etc this was the only way i
got my card to work.
I hope this makes more sense & good luck.

P.S What brand is your card & is it agp or pci-e ?
  • 0

#7
Alaster

Alaster

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts

Sorry you didn`t understand what i was getting at!
What i was pointing out was that the manufacturer
of the card, in my case Sapphire must be aware that
the drivers on the cd shipped with the card & the
drivers available to download at the ati catalyst
centre dont always work with windows, so they have
had to make an updated driver available themselves.
See www.sapphiretech.com for where i got mine.
Go to downloads at the top of the page & from there
you can choose the gfx card option, model of card &
your operating system etc this was the only way i
got my card to work.
I hope this makes more sense & good luck.

P.S What brand is your card & is it agp or pci-e ?


its an ATI Radeon 2400 HD Pro.

@rashaffer
What can I do to troubleshoot this.
  • 0

#8
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
As i stated in my previous post if indeed the problem is bad video memory there is no other option but to replace the card.
This problem was numerous with the old PCI cards from 13 years ago. Back then you could switch the memory out but now the newer cards do not have that capability.
I also stated that since the problem is happening outside of windows where no driver is being used and that even in linux where it doesn't care about model specific drivers but only the chipset. Then I advise replacement of the card.
  • 0

#9
Alaster

Alaster

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts

As i stated in my previous post if indeed the problem is bad video memory there is no other option but to replace the card.
This problem was numerous with the old PCI cards from 13 years ago. Back then you could switch the memory out but now the newer cards do not have that capability.
I also stated that since the problem is happening outside of windows where no driver is being used and that even in linux where it doesn't care about model specific drivers but only the chipset. Then I advise replacement of the card.

Ill go with what you say and contact ATI for warranty assistance. Do you know what could have caused this? It seemed to be caused by changing Harddrives.
  • 0

#10
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Nope just happened at the same time. The memory could have been faulty or heat could have caused it. Age could be a factor also.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP