Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Sharepoint Services 2003

• Please log in to reply

iekhan

iekhan

• Pip
  • 8 posts
Hi,

I am new to Sharepoint and am facing a particular problem. I have a document library containing multiple files. Now, depending on the user, I need to filter out the files available to him/her. In other words, I do not want all the files inside this folder (library) to be visible to every user.

I will really appreciate if you can help me out..

Advertisements

gerryf

gerryf

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 11,365 posts
I know next to nothing about sharepoint, but from my basic understanding you need to create multiple document libraries, and then restrict access to those libraries based on groups (which is basic windows server stuff).

So, did you dump everything into one library? If so, create a new library, move the need to be secure documents to that, then restrict access to the new library

iekhan

iekhan

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Well, lets put it this way. You have a whole bunch of documents relavant to the same topic. Hence, they have to go into the same folder. I can definitely create new groups. However, I am unable to filter out the data inside this folder depending on which group does the user belong to.

I can create sub folders, but then wont it be too messy. For e.g. to see one document, a sr. person has to enter a new sub directory.

gerryf

gerryf

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 11,365 posts
Yes, but you have to make compromizes in life...security or ease of use.