Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Help restoring windows XP


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Jeffrey_RedSox2007

Jeffrey_RedSox2007

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
Hi,

I was working with Rorschach112, one of your technicians. He/she was helping me with my laptop that was not working properly. The last step we performed was the ComboFix. Once my laptop rebooted I could no longer connect to the internet. I also cannot find my factory CD so they sent me here for help.
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
:) Rorschach112 is a he. :)
Try this and attach the screenshot in your next reply.

Please Go to
1: STARTand the click on RUN
2: Type in devmgmt.msc
3: Click Enter

To do a screenshot please have click on your Print Screen on your keyboard. It is normally the key above your number pad between the F12 key and the Scroll Lock key
Now go to Start and then to All Programs
Scroll to Accessories and then click on Paint
In the Empty White Area click and hold the CTRL key and then click the V
Go to the File option at the top and click on Save as
Save as file type JPEG and save it to your Desktop


Attach it to your next reply
  • 0

#3
Jeffrey_RedSox2007

Jeffrey_RedSox2007

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
When I go to All Programs there is nothing there.
  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK but I didn't want All Programs I need you to go to RUN
  • 0

#5
Jeffrey_RedSox2007

Jeffrey_RedSox2007

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
I did that already. I went to Run typed what you told me. Then you said take a print screen go to All Programs and place it in Paint. I don't have paint.
  • 0

#6
Jeffrey_RedSox2007

Jeffrey_RedSox2007

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
I did a work around. I ran a search for Paint and got the program. I saved the PrintScr to desktop but how can I send it to you? Still no internet access.
  • 0

#7
Jeffrey_RedSox2007

Jeffrey_RedSox2007

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
Device Manager
-Valued D-432B9E3
+Batteries
+Computer
+Disk Drives
+Display adapters
+DVD/CD-ROM Drives
+IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers
+IEEE 1394 Bus host controllers
+Keyboards
+Mice and other pointing devices
+Modems
+Monitors
+Network adapters
+PCMCIA adapters
+Ports (COM & LPT)
+Processors
+Sound, video and game controllers
+System devices
+Universal Serial Bus controllers

Here is the info that came up.
  • 0

#8
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
No yellow exclamation marks or red X's?
  • 0

#9
Jeffrey_RedSox2007

Jeffrey_RedSox2007

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
No. Not even if I click on all the plus signs.

Edited by Jeffrey_RedSox2007, 26 January 2010 - 12:56 PM.

  • 0

#10
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Well the network card is working then or I should say the drivers are working.
Go to Start and then to Network Places. Does it show your internet connection?
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
Jeffrey_RedSox2007

Jeffrey_RedSox2007

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
I am in Network Places and this is what it shows

Local Area Connection (X)
Network Cable unplugged, Firewalled
Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Eth...

Wireless Network Connection (X)
Not Connected, Firewalled
Intel ® PRO/Wireless LAN 2100 3B...

1394 Connection
Connected, firewalled
1394 Net Adapter
  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK now is your internet wired or wireless?
I see a possible problem with both that could be the issue.
Wired says cable unplugged which could mean a faulty nic.
Wireless could be a faulty adapter or not powered.

Edited by rshaffer61, 26 January 2010 - 09:09 PM.

  • 0

#13
Jeffrey_RedSox2007

Jeffrey_RedSox2007

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
I have wireless and I am not sure if Rorchach told you but I have an Averatec laptop which has a wireless button on the keyboard. It stopped working when the system rebooted after the ComboFix.

Edited by Jeffrey_RedSox2007, 27 January 2010 - 01:05 PM.

  • 0

#14
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK not a problem and you said it is a laptop but what make and model?
  • 0

#15
Jeffrey_RedSox2007

Jeffrey_RedSox2007

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 43 posts
averatec Model 5100
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP