Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Slow PC, Cannot find anything wrong... Need Help!


  • Please log in to reply

#1
SGTMedina

SGTMedina

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Thanks for viewing my new topic; I am new to this so please just bare with me. I recently had to re-install my operating system for having problems with the speed of my PC, but I noticed that it really didn't fix anything. The good thing is that I was lucky enough to find this website and I'm hoping someone can help me with this issue. I've read and followed the instructions from the malware guide and I did not run into anything and I have yet to see any good results. Here is a copy of the MBAM log and the GMER log. Thank you for the help.

Edited by Rorschach112, 26 January 2010 - 05:15 PM.
removed log

  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Download Autoruns from the link in my signature below:
1: Extract the Autoruns Zip file contents to a folder.
2: Double-click the "Autoruns.exe".
3: Click on the "Everything" tab
4: Remove any entries that mention "File Not Found" by right-clicking the entry and select Delete.
5: Go to File then to Export As or Save in some versions.
6: Save AutoRuns.txt file to known location like your Desktop.
7: Attach to your next reply.



Download and install Free Everest Home Edition
Open it.
1: In left pane expand Computer folder.
2: Click once on Summary
3: In upper menu, go Report
4: And then to Quick Report-Summary
5: Save it in text file, and paste it in your next post.
Click the + by computer, click on Sensor. Get a screenshot and post it so I can check your temps and voltages...

DO NOT INCLUDE ANYTHING UNDER THE LINE THAT SAYS "DEBUG- PCI"




  • 0

#3
SGTMedina

SGTMedina

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
--------[ EVEREST Home Edition © 2003-2005 Lavalys, Inc. ]------------------------------------------------------------

Version EVEREST v2.20.405
Homepage http://www.lavalys.com/
Report Type Quick Report
Computer H-3-CT-0-R (Hector's PC)
Generator Hector
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition 5.1.2600 (WinXP Retail)
Date 2010-01-26
Time 16:15


--------[ Summary ]-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Computer:
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition
OS Service Pack Service Pack 3
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Computer Name H-3-CT-0-R (Hector's PC)
User Name Hector

Motherboard:
CPU Type Mobile AMD Turion 64 ML-32, 1800 MHz (9 x 200)
Motherboard Name Gateway MX6421
Motherboard Chipset ATI Radeon Xpress 200M, AMD Hammer
System Memory 448 MB (PC2700 DDR SDRAM)
BIOS Type Phoenix (01/24/06)

Display:
Video Adapter ATI RADEON XPRESS 200M Series (64 MB)
Video Adapter ATI RADEON XPRESS 200M Series (64 MB)
3D Accelerator ATI Radeon Xpress 200M (RS480M)
Monitor Compaq 5017 [15" LCD] (1241673843574)
Monitor Plug and Play Monitor

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter ATI SB450 - AC'97 Audio Controller

Storage:
IDE Controller Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller
Disk Drive HTS541080G9AT00 (80 GB, 5400 RPM, Ultra-ATA/100)
Optical Drive PHILIPS DVD+-RW SDVD8441
SMART Hard Disks Status OK

Partitions:
C: (NTFS) 76316 MB (66526 MB free)

Input:
Keyboard HID Keyboard Device
Keyboard Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mouse HID-compliant mouse
Mouse HID-compliant mouse
Mouse Synaptics PS/2 Port TouchPad

Network:
Network Adapter Broadcom 802.11g Network Adapter (172.16.0.3)
Modem AC97 Soft Data Fax Modem with SmartCP

Peripherals:
USB1 Controller ATI SB450 - USB Controller
USB1 Controller ATI SB450 - USB Controller
USB2 Controller ATI SB450 - USB 2.0 Controller
USB Device USB Composite Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
USB Device USB Human Interface Device
Battery Microsoft AC Adapter
Battery Microsoft ACPI-Compliant Control Method Battery


FOR SOME REASON I COULDN'T GET THE SCREENSHOT.... HOPEFULLY THIS WORKS. :)

--------[ EVEREST Home Edition © 2003-2005 Lavalys, Inc. ]------------------------------------------------------------

Version EVEREST v2.20.405
Homepage http://www.lavalys.com/
Report Type Quick Report
Computer H-3-CT-0-R (Hector's PC)
Generator Hector
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition 5.1.2600 (WinXP Retail)
Date 2010-01-26
Time 16:27


--------[ Sensor ]------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sensor Properties:
Sensor Type HDD

Temperatures:
CPU 53 C (127 F)
Hitachi HTS541080G9AT00 44 C (111 F)

Attached Files


  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Problem one is the amount of memory you have.

System Memory 448 MB (PC2700 DDR SDRAM)

Xp likes 512 and will run but it does slow down as other programs are added. The so called sweet spot is 1 gig of memory.
Go to HERE and run the Crucial online scanner.
This will give you the exact memory configuration for your system.
You do not have to buy the memory from there, but write down the information and if you need assistance in purchasing the upgrade memory GTG can assist with suggestions also.
  • 0

#5
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Open Autoruns, click on "Logon" tab, and UN-check:

"SunJavaUpdateSched"
"Microsoft Office.lnk"
"Windows Search.lnk"
"MSMSGS"
"WMPNSCFG"


The next file needs to be manually disabled and is only needed if you use multi language on your keyboard. If you do then skip the step.


To turn off just ctfmon.exe go to:

Control Panel then to Regional and Language Options

Click on the Languages Tab then click the Details button

Click on the Advanced tab

Check the box that says Turn off advanced text services option

Click A and then OK



When done restart computer and then:



Download TFC by OldTimer to your desktop
  • Please double-click TFC.exe to run it. (Note: If you are running on Vista, right-click on the file and choose Run As Administrator).
  • It will close all programs when run, so make sure you have saved all your work before you begin.
  • Click the Start button to begin the process. Depending on how often you clean temp files, execution time should be anywhere from a few seconds to a minute or two. Let it run uninterrupted to completion.
  • Once it's finished it should reboot your machine. If it does not, please manually reboot the machine yourself to ensure a complete clean.


Download Auslogics Defrag from the link in my signature below. Auslogics Defrag in my opinion is better because:
It does a more comprehensive job at Defragging
It will actually show you what it is doing
At the end of working it will show you how much speed you picked up
You can view a online log of the files that Auslogics defragged


Let me know how everything is running when you have completed the above steps.

Edited by rshaffer61, 26 January 2010 - 06:56 PM.

  • 0

#6
SGTMedina

SGTMedina

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
I follwed the steps requested and I did notice a bit of differance. My IE is still slow and I am having trouble with my downloading speed. It took me almost 30 minutes to download the Auslogics Defrag software. Any suggestions on how to speed up the process?? I also looked into the system memory and I am having trouble understanding what it means.. :) :) Thank you for your time and help.
  • 0

#7
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

I also looked into the system memory and I am having trouble understanding what it means

What is it you need to know and I will try to explain it for you.

Also try this and see if IE speeds up. BTW what version of IE are you using?

To disable add-ons in Internet Explorer 8
1. Open Internet Explorer by clicking the Start button Picture of the Start button, and then clicking Internet Explorer.
2. Click the Tools button, and then click Manage Add-ons.
3. Under Show, click All add-ons.
4. Click the add-on you want to disable, and then click Disable.
5. Repeat step 4 for every add-on to disable. When you are finished, click Close.
Now restart IE and retry IE as before. Let us know if it still happens or not. If not then try enabling one add on at a time and trying IE again till you find the problem.
Most times the cause will be a toolbar add on.
  • 0

#8
SGTMedina

SGTMedina

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
[What is it you need to know and I will try to explain it for you.]

Oh I was able to look it up last night and I found a good article that helped me understand it. Thanks.

I am running IE 8. I was able to disable all of the add ons and I still did not see an improvement. The weird thing is that it was working great a few weeks ago. I thought by reinstalling XP it would take care of the problem, but it didn't.. I'm starting to get exausted. :)
  • 0

#9
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

I follwed the steps requested and I did notice a bit of differance. My IE is still slow and I am having trouble with my downloading speed. It took me almost 30 minutes to download the Auslogics Defrag software. Any suggestions on how to speed up the process?? I also looked into the system memory and I am having trouble understanding what it means.. :) :) Thank you for your time and help.



Have you contacted your ISP to ask them about running a line interference test along with signal and speed tests?
Do you have a modem or a router that you use to connect to the internet?
Are you broadband or dial up?
If broadband and use a modem or router have you attempted to bypass this and hook directly into the internet.
Also try disconnecting the system from router, the internet line from the router from your wall and then disconnect the power from the router for 10 minutes. Then hook everything back up again and try it. Does speed pick back up now?
  • 0

#10
SGTMedina

SGTMedina

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
So I disconnected everything from my PC (Keyboard, Mouse, and Monitor) and everything is running as good as its ever ran. Could it be that the usb ports were slowing the performance of my laptop??? That is pretty weird.. anyway, well thank you for your assistance. I couldn't have done this w/o your help. :)
  • 0

#11
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Wait so you unplugged everything and then reconnected everything?
Does that include the router for internet?
Kb, mouse and monitor wouldn't have anything to do with the speed slowing down.
Again part of the system slowness may be caused by the memory you have as it is minimum for XP .
  • 0

#12
SGTMedina

SGTMedina

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Yes, I disconnected everything from the laptop and it started working as normal. Very weird, I know. And no I didn't unplug the router or anything else because that was one of the first steps that I took before adding the topic. I plugged everything in other than the Monitor and it is still running fine. A few months ago, the hinges on the laptop screen started to get stuck so I hadded the Monitor to prevent everyone from having to open the laptop for use. One thing that I did notice was the laptop screen was still on while the monitor was running. I dont know if that had anything to do with it, but the problem is now gone from what I can tell.
  • 0

#13
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Well that is great to hear. Thank you for letting us know the resolution.
Congratulations. :) for a successful resolution for your issue.

You are very welcome. I'm glad we could help and please let us know how everything works out for you.
If there is anything else we can do to help please feel free to ask. I appreciate that you allowed me to assist you with your issue and for your patience.
Thank you for choosing GeeksToGo for help. :) :)
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP