Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

monitor goes blank


  • Please log in to reply

#31
mike4

mike4

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 211 posts
umm does it matter if im using windows 7? Because i ran than and a dos screen came up i think, but closed so quickly im not sure what it was. It never asked me to do it on the next reboot or not. And i used the computer for 30 more minutes and then rebooted but nothing happened. I tried again and still nothing happened. Also, this is a self built computer.

Edited by mikewang, 07 February 2010 - 01:11 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#32
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
hmm interesting.
Try this:

How To Restore back to a earlier date.


Go HERE to see the step by step instructions from Microsoft
  • 0

#33
mike4

mike4

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 211 posts
okay i restored my computer to the earliest restore point I had. Should i open up run and type chkdsk /r? Also, my hard drive is name C: drive, if that matters. Because when i run chkdsk /r a quick cmd prompt shows up and instantly closes.
  • 0

#34
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
the /r is a command for chkdsk to repair any problems it finds.
  • 0

#35
mike4

mike4

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 211 posts
Also, do you have a aim or msn? If so what is it, because that would hopefully make this quicker.
  • 0

#36
mike4

mike4

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 211 posts
okay, so do you know what I should do now? The check doesn't happen for some reason.
  • 0

#37
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
We can't do any assistance through private messaging as everything has to be seen in the topic. It helps others who may have the same problem.
Since nothing is working lets try the memory then.

If you have more than one RAM module installed, try starting computer with one RAM stick at a time.

NOTE Keep in mind, the manual check listed above is always superior to the software check, listed below. DO NOT proceed with memtest, if you can go with option A

B. If you have only one RAM stick installed...
...run memtest...

1. Download - Pre-Compiled Bootable ISO (.zip)
2. Unzip downloaded memtest86+-2.11.iso.zip file.
3. Inside, you'll find memtest86+-2.11.iso file.
4. Download, and install ImgBurn: http://www.imgburn.com/
5. Insert blank CD into your CD drive.
6. Open ImgBurn, and click on Write image file to disc
7. Click on Browse for a file... icon:

Posted Image

8. Locate memtest86+-2.11.iso file, and click Open button.
9. Click on ImgBurn green arrow to start burning bootable memtest86 CD:

Posted Image

10. Once the CD is created, boot from it, and memtest will automatically start to run. You may have to change the boot sequence in your BIOS to make it work right.

To change Boot Sequence in your BIOS
Reboot the system and at the first post screen (where it is counting up memory) start tapping the DEL button
This will enter you into the Bios\Cmos area.
Find the Advanced area and click Enter
Look for Boot Sequence or Boot Options and highlight that click Enter
Now highlight the first drive and follow the directions on the bottom of the screen on how to modify it and change it to CDrom.
Change the second drive to the C or Main Drive
Once that is done then click F10 to Save and Exit
You will prompted to enter Y to verify Save and Exit. Click Y and the system will now reboot with the new settings.


The running program will look something like this depending on the size and number of ram modules installed:


Posted Image

It's recommended to run 5-6 passes. Each pass contains very same 8 tests.

This will show the progress of the test. It can take a while. Be patient, or leave it running overnight.

Posted Image

The following image is the test results area:

Posted Image

The most important item here is the “errors” line. If you see ANY errors, even one, most likely, you have bad RAM.
  • 0

#38
mike4

mike4

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 211 posts
This may seem "stupid", but I actually don't have a optical drive. I didn't need one actually and could i just copy the files to a usb and boot from the usb? This is what i did to install my windows 7.
  • 0

#39
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Where do win 7 come from then if you didn't have the disc?
  • 0

#40
mike4

mike4

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 211 posts
I copied the files onto the usb. I dont have a optical drive on this computer, I have one on my laptop and slower desktop, but that slower desktop is made by Dell and i'm afraid ill break the computer if I take it apart because its so old.

Edited by mikewang, 07 February 2010 - 06:32 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#41
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
ok so what disk did you copy? The recovery disk for the dell?

Edited by rshaffer61, 07 February 2010 - 07:16 PM.

  • 0

#42
mike4

mike4

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 211 posts
I bought a windows 7 disk.
  • 0

#43
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Has the system worked fine since the install or did this issue start right away?
I'm sorry if it seems I'm asking a lot of questions but I'm trying to determine a exact time line to see if maybe a Repair Installation is needed to correct the problem.
  • 0

#44
mike4

mike4

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 211 posts
Sorry for being stupid, but what installation? I think I confused you. I have 3 computers a laptop this desktop, and the slower computer. I didn't want to take apart the slower computer to use its optical drive because that computer is made by dell.
  • 0

#45
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I understand that but what I'm getting at is that everything is checking out with your system as far as the hardware so I am looking at a software issue.
Unless the video card itself is failing I am not seeing any other issues with the system.
Is the video card a add on card or is it built on the motherboard? The only hardware that has not been checked is the memory. As far as will the memtest boot from the USB drive...and the answer is since it seems you were able to load Win 7 from it then yes I would imagine it should be able to run from the usb then.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP