Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Syntax, and PATH environmenal vairables

• Please log in to reply

Adatoode

Adatoode

• Pip
  • 1 posts
I'm currently studying a lot about computer science and programming etc, and I was wondering and I'm a little stuck with something.

I was wondering if anybody could tell me a few functions syntax allows in the command 'dir' ???

I'm also reading a lot about PATH environmental vairables, and it's somewhat sinking in a bit, but I'm having a little bit of a problem with the meaning of it. Some of the language is a little over the top in a lot of the searches, and I know there is a simpler way to explain it that would make sense to almost anybody who doesn't know a lot about the science of computers.

1 - I guess I don't really know what is the PATH environmental variable

2 - Why I need to know this to run programs

3 - What it has to do with absolute, relative, and default positions

Any help would be gretaly appreciated

Thanks A.C

Edited by Adatoode, 05 February 2010 - 01:46 AM.

Advertisements

dR_fLuX

dR_fLuX

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Hello, I'm a CS major, I believe I may be able to assist you here.( My information is always open to criticism/correction, if any error exists please inform me, I am by no means an expert, but simply just another student.)