Jump to content

Welcome Guest to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE
Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of friendly volunteers serve up answers and support. Get free advice from the experts. Feel free to browse the site as a guest. However, you must log in to reply to existing topics or start a new topic of your own, and enjoy all this forum has to offer. Additionally, if you can assist another member by sharing your knowledge, please post a reply! Best of all - Registration and all assistance, is FREE! Learn more about How it Works. Infected? Malware Cleaning Guide. What are you waiting for?
Create an Account Login to Account

Should i use CCleaner?


  • Please log in to reply

#1
m8dman

m8dman

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
I have recently been having problems with my PC freezing up, at first i thought it may be a virus but a scan turned up nothing. Someone suggested that it might be a registry error and they said i should try CCleaner.

Could CCleaner help with the freezing problems?
  • 0

Advertisement


#2
cbarnard

cbarnard

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 755 posts
:)

Have a look at this thread it is short but to the point...

-->>HERE

Then look at this link to a blog about "registry cleaners" by one of the experts here at Geeks to go.
-->>HERE

Hopefully after reading through those links you may better understand why registry cleaners are NOT recommended.

There are many other possibilities out there that slow down your computer. The steps to fix them would be much better to take, than one that could just crash your computer.

Download EVEREST-->> HERE

Then install it, run the program using the "Report" icon

Select "All Pages" and then "HTML". Attach a log to this thread.

Hopefully we can start figuring something out about your problem.

Good luck
  • 0

#3
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 33,978 posts
Download Speedfan (The download link is to the right), and install it. Once it's installed, run the program and post here the information it shows.
The information I want you to post is the stuff that is circled in the example picture I have attached.
To make sure we are getting all the correct information it would help us if you were to attach a screenshot like the one below of your Speedfan results.

To do a screenshot please have click on your Print Screen on your keyboard.
  • It is normally the key above your number pad between the F12 key and the Scroll Lock key
  • Now go to Start and then to All Programs
  • Scroll to Accessories and then click on Paint
  • In the Empty White Area click and hold the CTRL key and then click the V
  • Go to the File option at the top and click on Save as
  • Save as file type JPEG and save it to your Desktop
  • Attach it to your next reply

Posted Image
  • 0

#4
easyday

easyday

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Could CCleaner help with the freezing problems?


As a daily user of CCleaner, and a CC forum member, I should state that using CC's registry clean has caused problems with some users, although not with me. When I do use it I'm a bit* apprehensive.

*No pun intended. :)

Edited by easyday, 07 February 2010 - 02:02 PM.

  • 0

#5
m8dman

m8dman

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
I ran speedfan, here is the info you requested rshaffer61. I love your avatar bud is one of the coolest zombies of all time.

Just froze up on me again a few minutes ago, was watching a youtube video then the browser stopped responding and i got a black screen had to hit Ctrl+Alt delete a few times until it started working again.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Untitled.jpg

Edited by m8dman, 09 February 2010 - 07:42 AM.

  • 0

#6
m8dman

m8dman

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
Froze up on me again seems to be happening whenever i get on the internet.
  • 0

#7
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 33,978 posts
Go to
Start and then to Run
Type in Chkdsk /r Note the space between k and /
Click Enter ...It will probably ask if you want to do this on the next reboot...click Y
If the window doesn't shutdown on its own then reboot the system manually. On reboot the system will start the chkdsk operation
This one will take longer then chkdsk /f

Note... there are 5 stages...
It may appear to hang at a certain percent for a hour or more or even back up and go over the same area...this is normal...
DO NOT SHUT YOUR COMPUTER DOWN WHILE CHKDSK IS RUNNING OR YOU CAN HAVE SEVERE PROBLEMS
This can take several hours to complete.
When completed it will boot the system back into windows.

Let me know if this fixes the problem

Edited by rshaffer61, 10 February 2010 - 12:28 PM.

  • 0

#8
m8dman

m8dman

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
I ran Chkdsk and it i got a message saying the drive was clean, windows then booted up normally. So does that mean my drive is fine?

Edited by m8dman, 11 February 2010 - 12:02 PM.

  • 0

#9
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 33,978 posts
That is a good sign for sure. Did you notice when chkdsk was running did it find and fix anything?
  • 0

#10
m8dman

m8dman

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts

That is a good sign for sure. Did you notice when chkdsk was running did it find and fix anything?

Well im not experiencing anymore freezes, so i guess that fixed it. Thanks for the help rshaffer61!
  • 0
<

Advertisement


#11
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 33,978 posts
No problem and please let us know in another day or two how everything is running.
Good job with getting everything running again.
  • 0

#12
m8dman

m8dman

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
Well the freezing problem is back again :) It seems to only happen when im on the internet could it be a problem with my browser?
  • 0

#13
JJR96x

JJR96x

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
Hi, What browser do you use?
  • 0

#14
m8dman

m8dman

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts

Hi, What browser do you use?

Internet explorer. But would a browser crash cause my hole system to freeze?

Edited by m8dman, 07 March 2010 - 05:23 PM.

  • 0

#15
m8dman

m8dman

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
Like i said before it seems to happen whenever im on the internet first my browser will freeze and then the hole system.

Edited by m8dman, 10 March 2010 - 06:40 AM.

  • 0

Advertisement




Similar Topics: Should i use CCleaner?     x


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

featured