Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Some Programs Won't Connect to the Internet


  • Please log in to reply

#1
annarfay

annarfay

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Hello there! I am normally pretty good at figuring out these sorts of problems but this one is a tough one! Alright here it is:

A few days ago I noticed that Internet Explorer wasn't working. I normally use Firefox but upon accident I clicked IE. I disregarded it and moved on with life. Most recently I have tried updated programs such as Windows Media or even adding clip art to a document in Microsoft Word. None of these programs can connect to the internet at all! However, Firefox and Yahoo messenger connect.

I have taken down firewall and antivirus programs but none of this helps. I scanned for viruses/malware and nothing has come of the searching to help. I reset all IE settings and that did not fix my problem. Anything you can offer to help would be great! Thanks!
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
what version of Internet Explorer do you have now...
can you get windows updates...
try uninstalling it...it will roll back to a earlier version
  • 0

#3
annarfay

annarfay

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
I have updated everything. Still no good. Also, Yahoo Messenger has stopped connecting as well. Now only Firefox works.

Edited by annarfay, 09 February 2010 - 05:33 PM.

  • 0

#4
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
if you don't answer my questions I will not be able to help you...
  • 0

#5
annarfay

annarfay

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Okay. Sorry, I guess I didn't answer thoroughly enough. Please, have some patience with me. :)

Okay. I updated all my Windows updates, etc.
It installed Internet Explorer 8.

Do you want me to try and delete internet explorer? Is that safe? I am just a little nervous in doing something without an explanation for it.
  • 0

#6
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
have you tried connecting with IE 8 yet...if it still can not connect...try uninstalling your firewall completely in the add/remove software in the control panel...
what AV program do you use...does it have a firewall as part of it...
  • 0

#7
annarfay

annarfay

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
I tried with Internet 8 and it does not work. Again, I feel very nervous by deleting my firewall. I have tried shutting it off completely and that has no affect upon the connection problem. My anti-virus is Avast. I also use Malware Bites from time to time, but it is not running all the time.

I don't know if Avast has a built in firewall, but I know it isn't the problem. I just downloaded it after the problem occurred. The program I had before was Symantec. I deleted it just yesterday and it had no affect on the problem.
  • 0

#8
Alan_B

Alan_B

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
You do not DELETE malware protection.
If it allowed you to delete it then an intruder could defeat it.

You un-install it - unless it is Norton / Symantec which can be very tenacious.

You could still have chunks of Symantec interfering with your PC.

I believe Norton supply a tool that is supposed to eradicate it.

Alan
  • 0

#9
annarfay

annarfay

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Forgive my lack of proper terminology.
  • 0

#10
Alan_B

Alan_B

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
Happy to forgive you ! !

Has Symantec forgiven you ?

I do not know what version was installed.

I know the that old versions needed hard work and the Norton Removal Tool.

The later versions are reputed to be more docile - but who knows.

It would seem that even Norton 2010 product needs the removal tool - see
http://service1.syma...005033108162039

Alan
  • 0

#11
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
go here and get the norton removal tool...run it
because firefox can connect to the internet and IE can't it sure sounds like a firewall is blocking it...
try creating a new user account...give it admin rights...reboot...launch IE and see if it can connect to the internet...
nojoy...
try this...Go to Start...Run...Type in iexplore -extoff...Press Enter

Edited by happyrock, 11 February 2010 - 08:23 AM.

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP