Free help from tech experts
Welcome to Geeks to Go forums. Create an account now to gain access to all our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing topics, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. Best of all, registration and all assistance is 100% free! This message, and all ads will be removed once you have signed in.
Sign In Create Account

Need backup advice--Norton Ghost? Multiple partitions?

• Please log in to reply

lizgold

lizgold

• PipPip
  • 52 posts
Hi--

I recently had a scare where I thought I'd lost some of my data. I thought I had good backups using Norton Ghost 12, but when I went to restore, Ghost had not been backing up some of the partitions since Christmas! (It's set to backup several times a week.)

I'm a photographer and I have a LOT of valuable photo files, so I can't take any chances. I have about 700gb of data and two 500gb backup drives.

On the old docs drive (which I've replaced), I had several partitions that I backed up on alternate days. However, it seems like doing it this way, the Ghost backup sets take up a huge amount of space on the backup drives. It may be that Ghost wasn't backing up because it didn't think there was room on the backup drives.

I know everyone has partition & backup strategies, but I would appreciate suggestions on how to keep everything safely backed up without using too much HD space.

• Should I use something other than Ghost?
  • Would it take up less backup space to have fewer partitions (but none too large to backup to a 500gb backup drive)?

Thanks!

Similar Topics: Need backup advice--Norton Ghost? Multiple partitions?     x

123Runner

123Runner

Member 4k

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,167 posts
I had the same issue recently where a ghost backup was not performed because of disc space. I manipulated my partitions to create more back up space.