Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

SAS vs MBAM?

• Please log in to reply

asmo

asmo

• PipPip
  • 53 posts
Hi Guys,

I know the answer is probably that they're probably aimed at different areas. I notice the tutorials always mention MBAM but SAS is also meant to be very good too and reading the security help forum SAS is never mentioned.

I'm no expert I have both, I was just wondering which is better.

Advertisements

Ferrari

Ferrari

PC SURGEON

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,939 posts
Well like you said, they are aimed at different areas sort of, SAS seems to pick up tracking cookies really well, MBAM doesn't. One isn't really better than the other, they are usually considered to go hand in hand with one another. Neither of them are "real time" protection, but just stand a lone scanners. (SAS does protect your homepage from being changed on your browser)

On my system, I scan with Malwarebytes every so often, and then directly after scan with Super-Antispyware. To clarify, here is a quote from a trusted Malware Staff (or soon to be staff I should say) about a similar question I had... (he prefers MBAM over SAS)

Thanks Gammo! I can't tell you how much I respect the malware staff around here, keep up the good work. I didn't have the drive to complete GeekU, I'm a drop out

Anyway, I have completed all the recommended steps. Thanks so much. I have a question though:

[Gammo] *Install* SpywareBlaster to help prevent spyware from installing in the first place