Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Booting and Internet delays


  • Please log in to reply

#1
ste1200

ste1200

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Hi, when I boot my PC, it takes about 3 minutes before I am able to click anything. Also, when I click Firefox to open, it waits about another 2 minutes before anything loads. It is very frustrating !

When I am watching streaming videos on the web, it is forever buffering and the viewing is staggered.

Can anybody help please ?

Thanks in advance.
Ste
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
ersatz

ersatz

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts
Hello ste1200,

I suggest you read and follow this nice guide Artellos wrote up. It will show you many ways to speed up and maintain your PC.

As for video streaming, your problem is either related to your slow machine, or a slow internet connection. What type of internet connection do you have(dial-up, DSL, etc..) and how fast do you normally connect at? This is a nice way you can test your speeds.. LINK

Post your results :)

-Tony
  • 0

#3
ste1200

ste1200

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Thanks Tony, it hasn't improved really. Is there a test/report I could run for you to have a look at please ?

Ste
  • 0

#4
ersatz

ersatz

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts
Sure.

First, post some basic specs of your computer.

Download EVEREST Free Home Edition
  • Install it, and then run it.
  • In left pane expand Computer folder.
  • Click once on Summary
  • In the upper menu, choose Report > Quick Report-Summary
  • Save it in text file, and paste it in your next post.
When pasting it into your reply:
DO NOT INCLUDE ANYTHING UNDER THE LINE THAT SAYS "DEBUG- PCI"


Kudos to rshaffer61 for instructions!

Post an Autoruns report so I can see whats running in the background..

Download Autoruns
  • Extract the Autoruns Zip file contents to a folder.
  • Double-click the "Autoruns.exe".
  • Click on the "Everything" tab
  • Remove any entries that mention "File Not Found" by right-clicking the entry and select Delete.
  • Go to File then to Export As or Save in some versions.
  • Save AutoRuns.txt file to known location like your Desktop.
  • Attach to your next reply.
Thanks to rshaffer61 for the instructions

Also, post your results from the speedtest I told you in my last post.
  • 0

#5
ste1200

ste1200

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Sorry, I'm not sure what specs you need or where to find that info - it was built for me a couple of years ago.

Here is the info from Everest:

--------[ EVEREST Home Edition © 2003, 2004 Lavalys, Inc. ]-----------------------------------------------------------

Version EVEREST v1.51.195
Homepage http://www.lavalys.com/
Report Type Quick Report
Computer STEVENEWPC
Generator Steve Smith
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition 5.1.2600 (WinXP Retail)
Date 2010-03-13
Time 08:31


--------[ Summary ]-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Computer:
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
OS Service Pack Service Pack 3
Internet Explorer 8.0.6001.18702
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Computer Name STEVENEWPC
User Name Steve Smith

Motherboard:
CPU Type Unknown, 2200 MHz
Motherboard Name Unknown
Motherboard Chipset Unknown
System Memory 1792 MB
BIOS Type AMI (04/09/08)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)

Display:
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce 8200 (512 MB)
Monitor Plug and Play Monitor [NoDB] (00272JE000744)
Monitor Default Monitor (00272JE000744)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter Realtek HD Audio output

Storage:
IDE Controller Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller
IDE Controller Standard Dual Channel PCI IDE Controller
Floppy Drive Floppy disk drive
Disk Drive MAXTOR STM3160215AS (149 GB, IDE)
Optical Drive Optiarc DVD RW AD-7200A
SMART Hard Disks Status OK

Partitions:
C: (NTFS) 152617 MB (123527 MB free)

Input:
Keyboard Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mouse Microsoft PS/2 Mouse

Network:
Network Adapter NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller (192.168.1.27)

Peripherals:
Printer Canon MP150 Series Printer
Printer Microsoft XPS Document Writer
Printer Snagit 9
USB1 Controller Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller [NoDB]
USB1 Controller Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller [NoDB]
USB2 Controller Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller [NoDB]
USB2 Controller Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller [NoDB]
USB Device Canon MP150
USB Device USB Composite Device
USB Device USB Printing Support

Speedtest results:

Download 6.85mb/s
Upload 0.32mb/s
Ping 79ms

The dl speed seems really high, could it be anything to do with it being run early on a saturday morning ??

Also attached is the Autorun report.

Thanks in advance.
Ste

Attached Files


  • 0

#6
ste1200

ste1200

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Can somebody have a look at this for me please ? :)
  • 0

#7
ersatz

ersatz

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts
Hi,

Sorry for the late reply. Have you tried restarting your computer in safe mode with networking to see if maybe it's a software problem?

Restart your computer, holding down F8.
At the advanced option menu, choose Safe Mode with Networking.
You'll see a list of drivers, this is normal.
After a while, it will load.. log on with an administrator account.

By the way, you won't have any sound during Safe Mode.. but test your internet to see if it's any faster. If so, we can disable your start up programs and try to find a culprit.

-Tony
  • 0

#8
ste1200

ste1200

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Hi Tony, that didn't seem to improve anything.

By the way, I followed a guide on here of unticking boxes that were in my startup and everytime it boots now, I get the System Configuration Utility box saying it starting in Diagnostic or Selective Startup. I've one by one starting ticking the boxes again to try and get it to go but its not going, should I just untick them and ignore this ?
  • 0

#9
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Hey guys. I see the Autoruns was not addressed after received from ste1200 so I'm assisting on this.

Open Autoruns, click on "Logon" tab, and UN-check:

+ "Adobe Photo Downloader"
+ "Adobe Reader Speed Launcher"
+ "NvCplDaemon"
+ "SunJavaUpdateSched"





The next file needs to be manually disabled and is only needed if you use multi language on your keyboard. If you do then skip the step.


To turn off just ctfmon.exe go to:

Control Panel then to Regional and Language Options

Click on the Languages Tab then click the Details button

Click on the Advanced tab

Check the box that says Turn off advanced text services option

Click A and then OK



When done restart computer and then:



Download TFC by OldTimer to your desktop
  • Please double-click TFC.exe to run it. (Note: If you are running on Vista, right-click on the file and choose Run As Administrator).
  • It will close all programs when run, so make sure you have saved all your work before you begin.
  • Click the Start button to begin the process. Depending on how often you clean temp files, execution time should be anywhere from a few seconds to a minute or two. Let it run uninterrupted to completion.
  • Once it's finished it should reboot your machine. If it does not, please manually reboot the machine yourself to ensure a complete clean.


Download Auslogics Defrag from the link in my signature below. Auslogics Defrag in my opinion is better because:
It does a more comprehensive job at Defragging
It will actually show you what it is doing
At the end of working it will show you how much speed you picked up
You can view a online log of the files that Auslogics defragged

  • 0

#10
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
On a side not I see you are using both AVG and Spybot Tea Timer
Both these programs have been known to use excessive amounts of system resources which will slow your system down.
As a suggestion I would advise you to uninstall both and use the following two programs instead. These are both free and use a lot less of the system resources.
Please download Avast from my signature below. Please make sure you do the registration as it is good for a year or more. When it is due simply just reregister it.
Avast in my opinion is better because:
It's FREE to the Home User
It Updates it's Definitions daily
You can scan Individual Files, Folders and Drives
No buying new versions every year

Download SuperAntiSpyware from my signature below

Edited by rshaffer61, 18 March 2010 - 12:52 PM.

  • 0

#11
ste1200

ste1200

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Hi, I've done everything above, but still no better :)

I'm still getting the System Configuration Utility box, should I tick the box to say Do Not Show Again ?
  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Yes
  • 0

#13
ste1200

ste1200

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Is there anything else I can do try and improve my problems ?
  • 0

#14
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Go to
Start and then to Run
Type in Chkdsk /r Note the space between k and /
Click Enter ...It will probably ask if you want to do this on the next reboot...click Y
If the window doesn't shutdown on its own then reboot the system manually. On reboot the system will start the chkdsk operation
This one will take longer then chkdsk /f

Note... there are 5 stages...
It may appear to hang at a certain percent for a hour or more or even back up and go over the same area...this is normal...
DO NOT SHUT YOUR COMPUTER DOWN WHILE CHKDSK IS RUNNING OR YOU CAN HAVE SEVERE PROBLEMS
This can take several hours to complete.
When completed it will boot the system back into windows.

Let me know if this fixes the problem
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP