Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE
Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of friendly volunteers serve up answers and support. Get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message and all ads will be removed once you have signed in.
Create an Account Login to Account

Call of Duty cannot find a valid installation when patching fix


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Chuckster56

Chuckster56

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
"Setup could not locate valid installation of call of duty ... call of duty must be installed before applying the patch" Click OK to exit the installer.

I have run out of answers for this error message. I am trying to install the 1.3 patch

Tried installing with a DVD version of this program. Both C and D drives... same error message. It validates the reg code.

Got a BRAND NEW CD version of this and tried both local drives again.. and both DVD and CD drives to install and still the same error message.

I can play this game in single player mode just perfect but it will not let me install the patch for play online on my server.

I went through the registry and deleted any and all instances of COD2 as well as activison.

Here is my system specs.

Windows: Windows XP5.1 (Build 2600) Service Pack 2
Internet Explorer: 6.0.2900.2180
Memory (RAM): 2047 MB
CPU Info: Intel® Pentium® D CPU 2.80GHz
CPU Speed: 2792.3 MHz
Sound card: SB Live! Audio [BCE0]
Display Adapters: ATI Radeon X300/X550/X1050 Series | ATI Radeon X300/X550/X1050 Series Secondary | LogMeIn Mirror Driver | NetMeeting driver | RDPDD Chained DD
Screen Resolution: 1024 X 768 - 32 bit
Network: Network Present
Network Adapters: Intel® PRO/1000 PL Network Connection - Packet Scheduler Miniport
CD / DVD Drives: E: TSSTcorpDVD-ROM TS-H352C | F: HL-DT-STCD-RW GCE-8487B
COM Ports:
LPT Ports:
Mouse: 5 Button Wheel Mouse Present
Hard Disks: C: 39.1GB | D: 109.9GB
Hard Disks - Free: C: 23.8GB | D: 93.7GB
USB Controllers: 5 host controllers.
Firewire (1394): Not Detected
PCMCIA (Laptops): Not Installed
Manufacturer: Dell Inc.
Product Make: Dell DXP051
AC Power Status: OnLine
BIOS Info: AT/AT COMPATIBLE | 10/28/05 | DELL - 7
Time Zone: Pacific Standard Time
  • 0

Advertisement


#2
starjax

starjax

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 6,541 posts
with the game installed, go to Start, Run and enter regedit
find HKEY_Local_Machine\software\activision and look for call of duty 2

what you should see is the pointer to your install location.
  • 0

#3
Chuckster56

Chuckster56

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

with the game installed, go to Start, Run and enter regedit
find HKEY_Local_Machine\software\activision and look for call of duty 2

what you should see is the pointer to your install location.



I do see that. It's all where it's supposed to be. C:\Program Files\Activision\Call of Duty 2\

So why is the 1.3 patch telling me that it's not finding a valid installation etc. I have tried installing the patch from the directory where it's installed, and all kinds of other places. Still same error message.
  • 0

#4
starjax

starjax

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 6,541 posts
have you installed the patches in incremental order? it's highly recommended that you do so.

oh, and lets take a look at the loading screen. the bottom right hand corner of the main menu should show the version.
  • 0

#5
Chuckster56

Chuckster56

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
I have the original version when I first install the game. I am unable to apply any patches at the moment. NONE



I am trying to apply the 1st patch.. 1.3 and that is when the error message comes up.

Edited by Chuckster56, 08 March 2008 - 11:19 AM.

  • 0

#6
starjax

starjax

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 6,541 posts
please look at the menu screen and tell me what the version says. That information translates to patch level and build number. Without that info, we are unable to assist you further.
  • 0

#7
Chuckster56

Chuckster56

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Version 1.2 After the original install with no patches.
  • 0

#8
starjax

starjax

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 6,541 posts
ok, thanks for the info. That at least tells me what edition of the game you have. Now to provide some instructions (could be that you have a corrupted file or wrong version of patch)

# Download the patch again from a reliable source.

# Ensure you are pointing the patch to the correct directory when prompted in the installer.

# All background applications must be shutdown prior to running the game.

If the error still occurs, check your registry for the proper value for the Version:

This answer is for an Advanced user. Please do not attempt the below solution if you are not comfortable editing the Registry. Damaging the Registry could result in very adverse effects to your system. USE AT YOUR OWN RISK.

1) Click Start, then Run.
2) At the prompt type "REGEDIT".
3) Click the "+" next to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE.
4) Click the "+" next to SOFTWARE.
5) Click the "+" next to Activision.
6) Click on the Call of Duty 2 folder.
7) On the right hand side, you should see an entry called Version. If you do not, skip to step 8. If it is there, make sure its value in the data field is 1.0.
8) On the right hand side, right click anywhere, and select New->String Value. Type in "Version" (without the quotes), and hit enter.
9) Right-click on the newly created string, and select Modify.
10) In the section marked "Value Data", enter "1.0" (without the quotes). Click on OK.
11) Reboot the system.
12) Install the 1.3 patch as normal. Do not install the 1.01 or 1.2 patch first; the 1.3 patch is cumulative.

If you performed a manual install of the game you will need to do the following:

You will need to manually create a registry entry for Call of Duty 2 before you can install the patch. For this to work you must have installed to the default directory (c:\program files\Activision\Call of Duty 2).

1) Click Start, then Run.
2) At the prompt type "REGEDIT".
3) Click the "+" next to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE.
4) Click the "+" next to SOFTWARE.
5) If you see an Activision folder go to step 8.
6) Right-click on the Software folder and select New, then Key.
7) Name the new folder Activision.
8) Right-click on the Activision folder and select New, then Key.
9) Name the new folder Call of Duty 2.
10 Select the Call of Duty 2 folder.
11) In the right window pane right-click and select New, then String Value.
12) Name the value "InstallPath" without the quotes.
13) Open the InstallPath string value by double-clicking on it.
14) In the Value data field type "c:\PROGRA~1\ACTIVI~1\CALLOF~1" (without the quotes) then click OK.
15) In the right window pane right-click and select New, then String Value.
16) Name the value "Version" without the quotes.
17) Open the Version string value by double-clicking on it.
18) In the Value data field type "1.0" (without the quotes).

If completed properly you will have a key named "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Activision\Call of Duty 2". This key will have a string value named InstallPath with a data value of "c:\PROGRA~1\ACTIVI~1\CALLOF~1" and a string value named Version with a value of 1.0.

Before the patch will install you must make sure you have entered a cd key for the game. Launch the multiplayer portion of the game. Click on multiplayer options. Click on the "Enter CD Key" button to enter your cd key.

You can now install the patch normally.
  • 0

#9
Chuckster56

Chuckster56

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

ok, thanks for the info. That at least tells me what edition of the game you have. Now to provide some instructions (could be that you have a corrupted file or wrong version of patch)

I am only trying to install the 1.3 patch and have downloaded it from 5 or 6 different places

# Download the patch again from a reliable source.

# Ensure you are pointing the patch to the correct directory when prompted in the installer.
The patch doesn't give you the option of pointing at the install directory.

# All background applications must be shutdown prior to running the game.

If the error still occurs, check your registry for the proper value for the Version:

This answer is for an Advanced user. Please do not attempt the below solution if you are not comfortable editing the Registry. Damaging the Registry could result in very adverse effects to your system. USE AT YOUR OWN RISK.

1) Click Start, then Run.
2) At the prompt type "REGEDIT".
3) Click the "+" next to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE.
4) Click the "+" next to SOFTWARE.
5) Click the "+" next to Activision.
6) Click on the Call of Duty 2 folder.
7) On the right hand side, you should see an entry called Version. If you do not, skip to step 8. If it is there, make sure its value in the data field is 1.0.
8) On the right hand side, right click anywhere, and select New->String Value. Type in "Version" (without the quotes), and hit enter.
9) Right-click on the newly created string, and select Modify.
10) In the section marked "Value Data", enter "1.0" (without the quotes). Click on OK.
11) Reboot the system.
12) Install the 1.3 patch as normal. Do not install the 1.01 or 1.2 patch first; the 1.3 patch is cumulative.

If you performed a manual install of the game you will need to do the following:

You will need to manually create a registry entry for Call of Duty 2 before you can install the patch. For this to work you must have installed to the default directory (c:\program files\Activision\Call of Duty 2).

1) Click Start, then Run.
2) At the prompt type "REGEDIT".
3) Click the "+" next to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE.
4) Click the "+" next to SOFTWARE.
5) If you see an Activision folder go to step 8.
6) Right-click on the Software folder and select New, then Key.
7) Name the new folder Activision.
8) Right-click on the Activision folder and select New, then Key.
9) Name the new folder Call of Duty 2.
10 Select the Call of Duty 2 folder.
11) In the right window pane right-click and select New, then String Value.
12) Name the value "InstallPath" without the quotes.
13) Open the InstallPath string value by double-clicking on it.
14) In the Value data field type "c:\PROGRA~1\ACTIVI~1\CALLOF~1" (without the quotes) then click OK.
15) In the right window pane right-click and select New, then String Value.
16) Name the value "Version" without the quotes.
17) Open the Version string value by double-clicking on it.
18) In the Value data field type "1.0" (without the quotes).

that key was in there already and changed it from 1.2 "my version" to 1.0

If completed properly you will have a key named "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Activision\Call of Duty 2". This key will have a string value named InstallPath with a data value of "c:\PROGRA~1\ACTIVI~1\CALLOF~1" and a string value named Version with a value of 1.0.

it does.

Before the patch will install you must make sure you have entered a cd key for the game. Launch the multiplayer portion of the game. Click on multiplayer options. Click on the "Enter CD Key" button to enter your cd key.

verified the key and then re-entered it again just to make sure.

You can now install the patch normally.


Once again same error message as before.
Setup could not locate valid installation of call of duty ... call of duty must be installed before applying the patch" Click OK to exit the installer.


Of course this game is already installed.

Edited by Chuckster56, 09 March 2008 - 01:36 PM.

  • 0

#10
starjax

starjax

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 6,541 posts
uninstall the game and install with CUSTOM. install to c:\call of duty 2\.
  • 0
<

Advertisement


#11
Chuckster56

Chuckster56

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Well, that didn't work. Can't even run the game in single player mode. In fact, there is no COD2 EXE file in that directory. "C:\Call of Duty 2\cod2mp_s.exe" that doesn't even exist in that dir,

And that [bleep] error message comes up when applying the 1.3 patch.

Edited by Chuckster56, 09 March 2008 - 06:19 PM.

  • 0

#12
starjax

starjax

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 6,541 posts
then it's not completing the install, thus why you can't install the patch. Are you having any other difficulties other than cod2?
  • 0

#13
Chuckster56

Chuckster56

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

then it's not completing the install, thus why you can't install the patch. Are you having any other difficulties other than cod2?


Are you serious.. not completing the install.. it completed the full install in the default directory.... and I was able to play single player just fine...


Your kidding right!!!! Do tell me your kidding... Have you not gone back and read my very first post... do tell me you read post. !!!!!! You do read posts right...???


I think you need to read my very very very first post which says that " can play this game in single player mode just perfect but it will not let me install the patch for play online on my server"

" I am trying to install the 1.3 patch "

Do you even play this game and do you even know how the patches are applied?

Edited by Chuckster56, 09 March 2008 - 11:22 PM.

  • 0

#14
starjax

starjax

    Global Moderator

  • Global Moderator
  • 6,541 posts
Your contradicting yourself. your last post:

Can't even run the game in single player mode. In fact, there is no COD2 EXE file in that directory.


That is why I made that statement. I want you to carefully consider your next response. I need EVERY problem/error you have with cod2. Not just that you can't install the 1.3 patch. The steps provided in post #8 are directly from activision. I have used them before in like situations successfully.

Edited by starjax, 10 March 2008 - 08:09 AM.

  • 0

#15
Chuckster56

Chuckster56

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
I have had only one problem with COD2 one problem only... and that is I am unable to patch the game with the 1.3 patch.


Your other fix to install into a custom dir didn't work, there was nothing in that dir but when I install into here

C:\Program Files\Activision\Call of Duty 2 and into here
D:\Program Files\Activision\Call of Duty 2

The install goes fine and i'm able to play in single player mode.

That is all.
  • 0

Advertisement



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

featured