Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

First Time Computer Build-need help

• Please log in to reply

356_Cruiser

356_Cruiser

• PipPip
  • 11 posts
Hi,
This is my first time posting here, I am hoping for some help/assistance.

Yesterday I bought new computer parts in hopes up rebuilding my home computer.

I bought the parts from a local Digilink store, it is closed today, else I would stop in there for assistance.

Computer is an Windows XP based system.

I bought a new:

- 350 watt powersupply
- a new mother board - GIGABYTE MA785GM-US2H
- a new processor - AMD Phenom-2 multi-core processor, 3.0 GHZ, 7MB Cache, socket AM-
3 with heat sink fan.
- 2 GB RAM (single chip)
- New DVD/CD Writer (Liteon, SATA Interface)
- New Hard Drive, SATA Interface (?).. same cable, so I'm guessing

I put in my original hard drive, which is the old ribbon cable interface (is that ESDI ?)
The new SATA hard drive is not formatted or plugged in at this time, only mounted in the chassis

When we turn on the power switch on the power supply and then the case/chassis, nothing lights up, the power supply does not come on.

I have verified cables/wires the best I can... but I believe I have made an error some where.

There are 4 small pairs of wires, coming from the power switch on the chassis. I believe I have these in the correct locations... I am not sure if the white wire on each pair is neutral (negative) or positive... I currently have it positioned as white is positive.