Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Is my super slow browsing speed down to a failed network attempt?


  • Please log in to reply

#16
thebarracksfv

thebarracksfv

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
On this test -

Main Pc download 2216....upload 581

laptop download 2144....upload 504

Both tests took about the same time.
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
ok...try creating another admin account on the tower...
see if the new account has the same browsing speed as the laptop
  • 0

#18
thebarracksfv

thebarracksfv

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
Hi Happyrock

That is a neat idea.
I have created the new account but, unfortunately, there is no improvement.
Start up of Firefox took almost a minute and using the link in the auto email from you guys took almost 2 minutes to fully open your web page.

I know that this one is a bit of a bug**r but I really appreciate your help.

I guess that my 1st thought was that it was some sort of virus but Hammerman has run through multi checks and assures me that isn't the problem.

And the problem stated almost overnight in January but other than trying to create the network between the main PC & the laptop, I can't recall anything else that we did that could cause the problem.

At xmas, I was showing my brother in law some sites and he was surprised how quick the PC operated......then bam...we get hit with this.

So thanks for your input. Anything that you can offer is gratefully received
  • 0

#19
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
I'm grasping a straws but lets try this...go here and take the tweak test..
Test if your computer is setup correctly for broadband TCP connectivity
  • 0

#20
==SpuD==

==SpuD==

    Member

  • Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 691 posts
quick question, have you tried doing a system restore to some point when the computer was working normally?
  • 0

#21
thebarracksfv

thebarracksfv

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
Hi Happyrock

I have run the test as suggested and made the changes but still no joy unfortunately.

Hi Spud

I haven't but I can't recall exactly when it all started going slow.
I know that my brother in law was commenting that our PC seemed quicker than his at Xmas and that it must have been January sometime.

I haven't got a system restore point available further back than 22nd Jan and I reckon it was before that when the problem started. Good thought though, thanks for the suggestion.
  • 0

#22
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
lets try a few basic speed settings
go to START..RUN...type in MSCONFIG...then click on OK or press ENTER..
click on START UP TAB...uncheck everything EXCEPT your AV and firewall...

the next thing we are going to do is turn off indexing ....its a resource hog and if you aren't searching for things on your computer 10 times a day it will only slow down your system....

click on start...my computer...right click on C: drive....properties...on the general tab..uncheck ...allow indexing on this drive and compress drive....

To clean your temp folder, recycle bin, index.dat etc..please download this free tool...

CCleaner

Don't install any Toolbars, or other programs, should it ask you...Just
uncheck the option of installing the Yahoo toolbar....if you get
the slim version it does not have the toolbar
that's the one I recommend...

It will put a shortcut on your Desktop.

Click on CCleaner to start it....
Before first use...
Select Options then Advanced.
UNCHECK "Only delete files in Windows Temp folder older than 48 hours"
also UNCHECK Old Prefetch data..
The rest of the standard settings are fine...

Then click "Run Cleaner"

DO NOT USE ANY OF THE OTHER TOOLS...RUNNING THEM MAY CAUSE OTHER PROBLEMS

next get diskeeper lite here...

after installing it...click on the icon...close the "nag" screen...click on your c drive to select it ...then down towards the bottom ...click on defragment now...first time you use it it may take 20 to 50 minutes to complete...do it about every two weeks and it will complete in about 7 minutes...
reboot and tell me hows its running...
  • 0

#23
thebarracksfv

thebarracksfv

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
Hi

Start up is quicker now cos there was all sorts of stuff doing it's thing at switch on. CCleaner is something that I have been using for some years and I must admit that I have used the registry cleaner part of it's applications.

I have also used defraggler from the same stable.

I have run diskeeper lite today.

Whilst start up is quicker, I'm sorry to say that opening a webpage still takes an age....geekstogo takes about 45 seconds as an example.
  • 0

#24
thebarracksfv

thebarracksfv

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
We have now used Diskeeper lite on a number of occasions but no improvement in web page loading.

Any further suggestions gratefully received.
  • 0

#25
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
go here and download System Investigator by Olrik (SINO.exe)

Save SINO to a place you can remember and run SINO.exe. (If you downloaded the ZIP version you will need to extract it first)
put ticks in the following checkboxes:
System Info

Event Log
Ipconfig
Ping

Once checked, hit the Run Scan! button and wait for the program to finish the scan.

A notepad window will pop up. Please copy all of the content into your next reply
Note: If you try to interact with the program once it’s started scanning it might appear to hang. The scan however will continue.

Edited by happyrock, 25 April 2010 - 11:59 AM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#26
thebarracksfv

thebarracksfv

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
Hi Happyrock

The option to tick "event log" was not available??

Here is the log for the other 2 options.

System Investigator by Olrik
Log Created On: 1853_27-04-2010
SINO Version: 2.4.9.9

Total RAM: 2038 MB | Free RAM: 1143 MB | Pagefile Size: 2645 MB
A: | None | 3 1/2 Inch Floppy Drive
C: | 117146 MB out of 194466 MB Free | Local Fixed Disk
D: | None | CD-ROM Disc

<<<< Ipconfig >>>>

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MainPC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : 520b.com

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : 520b.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-8F-EA-FF-AB
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 27 April 2010 17:18:01
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 28 April 2010 17:18:01

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::ffff:ffff:fffd%4
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : 520b.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-A8-01-02
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.2%2
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled


<<<< Pinging >>>>

OpenDNS Domain Test
Pinging to www.opendns.com [208.69.38.150]:

Response - 187ms
Response - 172ms
Response - 171ms
Response - 171ms

Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0
Minimum = 171ms - Maximum = 171ms

OpenDNS IP Test
Pinging to 208.67.222.222 [208.67.222.222]:

Response - 32ms
Response - 30ms
Response - 31ms
Response - 30ms

Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0
Minimum = 30ms - Maximum = 31ms

YouTube Domain Test
Pinging to www.youtube.com [209.85.227.139]:

Response - 30ms
Response - 31ms
Response - 30ms
Response - 32ms

Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0
Minimum = 30ms - Maximum = 32ms

YouTube IP Test
Pinging to 208.117.236.69 [208.117.236.69]:

Response - None
Response - None
Response - None
Response - None

Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4
Minimum = None - Maximum = None

localhost Test
Pinging to 127.0.0.1 [127.0.0.1]:

Response - 0ms
Response - 0ms
Response - 0ms
Response - 0ms

Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0
Minimum = 0ms - Maximum = 0ms




Many thanks
  • 0

#27
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
download Google's chrome browser from here...install it and try connecting to your normal sites
  • 0

#28
thebarracksfv

thebarracksfv

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
Hi

We have Chrome as an alternate browser but it is no better than Firefox as far as speed is concerned.
  • 0

#29
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
that means its not a browser issue...I will be back online in the morning...my brain is foggy right now...
  • 0

#30
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
after you first connect to geekstogo and you have the lag of 45 seconds for the page to load...does other pages or forums at geekstogo load faster or the same lag time (45 seconds)
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP