Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Windows internet security warning on my Mac Leopard op system

• Please log in to reply

Yellowhaze

Yellowhaze

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hello. This is my first time using this site. I am experiencing an annoying problem with my Mac OS X Leopard computer. About 50% of the time, I receive a Windows internet security warning window. I do not run Windows on my system, only a MS Office for Mac program. The window says the following:

"Your browser is under the threat of infection. Windows requires your permission to install online protection tool." This text displays in a yellow section of the window. In smaller print, the warning window goes on to say: "Your browser is run in unsafe mode. Running the protection mode will help you to keep your computer safe..."

My browser is Safari. I also have Mozilla installed. I do not have any anti-virus, malware, spyware, or other programs installed. I also have not installed any new software (that I can remember) since this problem occurred about 4 weeks ago. Your help is appreciated. Thank you. Steve

Ah, I now see the file upload button. Here is a screen shot of the warning...

Attached Thumbnails

• Windows_internet_security_warning.jpg

Advertisements

silverbeard

silverbeard

Trusted Tech

• PipPipPip
  • 791 posts