Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

BSOD on Startup...even in Safe Mode

• Please log in to reply

bucketosand

bucketosand

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Yesterday my sister came to me saying she was having some computer problems. Now I'm no computer expert, but in our house I am. She said she was surfing the net when suddenly Norton popped up saying a virus was found. She has had problems with some fake antivirus spyware stuff, so she immediately turned off her computer (by pressing the power button). Now, every time she starts up her computer, she gets a blue screen after the Windows XP loading screen (the one with the green bar). My first idea was to try safe mode, but that too led to a blue screen. My next idea was to put in the Norton CD to boot off that. I did that, and Norton ran some little scan and found nothing. After that, I tried putting in the XP CD to try to repair the problem. I must have used the CD from some other system because all that did was bring up some C:\Windows command line thing after selecting repair and I didn't know where to go from there.

After no luck with all that, I turned to the internet, again failing to find a solution. So now I am here asking for help.

Some specific details:

- When booting in safe mode, it seems to hang up on mup.sys before bringing up the BSOD
- Every time the blue screen comes up it seems like there is a different error code. Here's some of them:

0x0000007e (0xc0000005, 0x822de7f0, 0xf88d07b4, 0xf88d04b0)

0x0000007e (0xc0000005, 0x822f77f0, 0xf88c47b4, 0xf88c44b0)