Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Xp Home Ram Upgrade


  • Please log in to reply

#1
john god

john god

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 418 posts
Hello,
I'm running windows xp home.
I have 2gb of ram.
In my computer the pie is just about full.
Very little if any memory left.
I installed the 2gb from crucial, only had 512gb before.
I only have 2 slots for memory and crucial said I'm at max.
Is there any way of adding more memory?
Thanks,
John
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,307 posts

In my computer the pie is just about full.

I will take a stab at this. Are you referring to the hard drive? That is the only "pie" I can think of.

Lets see if we can get some system information.

Download and install PC Wizard 2010

Run the program and it will analyze your computer and then display the results.
In the upper left hand corner click on the floppy icon.
You will get a save as screen.
Change the range bullet "only this selection" to be "selected category".
Make sure that text is selected for format.
Click on ok and you will be given a spot to save it to.

Attach it to your response.

123runner
  • 0

#3
john god

john god

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 418 posts
I will do what you recommended after my wife gets off her pc.
She's working on it at the moment.

A little pop up at the bottom right of her pc said, disc nearly full.
Don't know what that means.

This memory thing all started after I got and installed a HP officejet 6500.

I checked the Add/Remove in control panel and it has about 7 or 8 entries. Hp customer service / Hp customer participation, etc. etc.
I'm also trying to find out what I can delete to add memory.
  • 0

#4
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,307 posts
I think there is a communication issue here.
Disk full is most likely referencing the hard drive.
Memory/ram is something else.
  • 0

#5
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Hi guys can I add something here that might help?
Go to Start then to Run
Type in compmgmt.msc and click Enter
On left side click on Disk Management
On right side you will see you hard drive.
Now I need you to take a screenshot and attach it to your next reply. Do the following to take a screenshot while the above is open and showing on your desktop.

To do a screenshot please have click on your Print Screen on your keyboard. It is normally the key above your number pad between the F12 key and the Scroll Lock key
Now go to Start and then to All Programs
Scroll to Accessories and then click on Paint
In the Empty White Area click and hold the CTRL key and then click the V
Go to the File option at the top and click on Save as
Save as file type JPEG and save it to your Desktop


Attach it to your next reply
  • 0

#6
john god

john god

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 418 posts
Heres the info 123 runner wanted.
There were like 3 sections. Copied them all.

--------------------------------------------------------
PC Wizard - Release Notes
Copyright © 1996-2010 Laurent KUTIL & Franck DELATTRE

Date format : dd/mm/yyyy
--------------------------------------------------------

27/12/2009
- Intel ATOM "Pineview" support
- Intel NM10 Chipset support
- Intel GMA 3150 video card support
- DirectCompute information support
- ComputeShaderModel version support
- Double Precision Shader Compute support

31/12/2009
- Internet Gateway Router support
- Processor Power Consumption support
- Intel W5590, E5540, E5530, L5530, E5520, L5520, L5518, L5506, E5504, E5502 processors support
- Intel W3565, W3530, 930 processors support
- Intel Core i5 processors support

02/01/2010
- AMD SR5690/SR5650 Chipset support
- DELL Computer Desktop Hardware Monitoring support
- ITE IT8721F Sensor support

03/01/2010
- Gigabyte DES Sensor support
- Network shared resources support

09/01/2010
- Intel Core i7-600, i5-500, i5-400, i3-300 Mobile Processors Series support
- Intel Core i3-500 Desktop Processors Series support
- Intel Pentium G6950 processor support
- Intel HD Graphics video card support
- Intel H55/HM55 Chipset support
- Intel QM57/H57/Q57/HM57/QS57 Chipset support
- Virtual Machine detection support

17/01/2010
- Asus EPU support
- AMD Athlon II 1xxx processors support
- AMD Phenom II X2 B processor support
- AMD OPteron Quad-Core 13xx processors support
- updated to 2010.1.93


---------------------------------------------
PC Wizard
Copyright © 1996-2009 Laurent KUTIL & Franck DELATTRE
--------------------------------------------------------

Web: http://www.cpuid.com
e-mail: pcwizard@cpuid.com
Privacy Policy : http://www.cpuid.com/cpuid-pp.php

Summary :
1. Running in Batch Mode
2. Paremeters List
3. How to desinstall PC Wizard



1. Running in Batch Mode (or Silent Mode)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Usage:
PC Wizard.exe /R T[x] C[y] filename[.ext] /I
/H
/?
/D

[/?], [/H] - Commands Help

T[x] - with x from 1 to 4 (1=Hardware Tab, 2=System Tab, 3=Files Tab, 4=Resources Tab).
C[y] - with y to specify which category to include with the report.
T1 C[y] with y from 1 to 12 (see 2. Parameters List)
T2 C[y] with y from 1 to 20 (see 2. Parameters List)
T3 C[y] with y from 1 to 15 (see 2. Parameters List)
T4 C[y] with y from 1 to 4 (see 2. Parameters List)

/I - To include detailled information.

You may specify different extension for different types of reports
[.ext] = .TXT for report in TEXT format
[.ext] = .CVS for report in CVS format
[.ext] = .HTM for report in HTML format


/D - To execute PC Wizard in debug mode (a debug file will be created on the PC Wizard drive installation root)


Example 1:
PC Wizard.exe /R T1 C3 c:\reports\report.txt /I
Result:
Save plain text report for Hardware Tab and Processor category only into the c:\reports folder, with detailed information.


Example 2:
PC Wizard.exe /R T1 c:\reports\report.htm
Result:
Save HTML report for all categories of the Hardware Tab into the c:\reports folder, without detail.


Example 3:
PC Wizard.exe /D
Result:
A debug file called pcwdbg.log will be created at c:\ if PC Wizard is installed on drive C:
This parameter is not compatible with others commands to create reports.



2. Paremeters List
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

for T1 you can use following values :
1 = Summary
2 = Motherboard
3 = Processor
4 = Video
5 = Ports
6 = Disks
7 = Printers
8 = Devices
9 = Multimedia
10 = Network
11 = Power
12 = Voltage, Temperature and Fans
13 = Vista Hardware Performance
14 = Gigabyte ODIN and nVIDIA ESA Monitoring

for T2 you can use following values :
1 = Operating System
2 = DOS
3 = Internet
4 = Control Panel
5 = Desktop
6 = Process and Threads
7 = Library DLL
8 = OLE Inscription
9 = Microsoft Applications
10 = Fonts
11 = UnInstall and MSI
12 = Boot-Start Applications
13 = Associated Files Extensions
14 = DirectX
15 = ODBC Data Source
16 = Passwords
17 = Security
18 = Multimedia
19 = Services
20 = UpTime Statistics
21 = ActiveX controls
22 = .NET Framework Global Assembly Cache

for T3 you can use following values :
1 = Config.nt
2 = Boot.ini
3 = Autoexec.nt
4 = Detlog.txt
5 = Bootlog.txt
6 = System.ini
7 = Win.ini
8 = DosStart.bat
9 = CMOS values
10 = Config.dos
11 = Autoexec.dos
12 = Environment Variables
13 = Event Log (Applications)
14 = Event Log (System)
15 = Event Log (Security)
16 = Protected Files
17 = GPO Startup
18 = GPO Shutdown
for T4 you can use following values :
1 = Interruption Request (IRQ)
2 = Direct memory Access (DMA)
3 = I/O Ports
4 = memory Resources
5 = Network Realtime Resources


3. How to desinstall PC Wizard
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In order to remove PC Wizard from your system, select Programs from Windows Start button, CPUID, PC Wizard, and choose "Uninstall PC Wizard".
You can do the same from Control Panel with "Add and Remove Programs" applet.

See Privacy Policy at http://www.cpuid.com/cpuid-pp.php


PC Wizard 2010 Version 1.93
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Owner: John Godlewski
User: Eileen Godlewski
Operating System: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition 5.01.2600 Service Pack 3
Report Date: Saturday 03 April 2010 at 18:22

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


<<< System Summary >>>
> Manufacturer : Duracom
> Mainboard : Dell Computer Corp. 02X378
> Chipset : Intel i845G
> Processor : Intel Pentium 4 @ 2400 MHz
> Physical Memory : 2048 MB (2 x 1024 DDR-SDRAM )
> Video Card : Intel® 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller
> Hard Disk : WDC (20 GB)
> DVD-Rom Drive : LITEON DVD-ROM LTD163
> Monitor Type : Dell Computer DELL 1704FPV - 17 inches
> Network Card : 82540EM Gigabit Ethernet Controller
> Operating System : Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition 5.01.2600 Service Pack 3
> DirectX : Version 9.0c

<<< Mainboard >>>
> Manufacturer : Dell Computer Corporation
> Mainboard : Dell Computer Corp. 02X378
> Bios : Dell Computer Corporation
> Chipset : Intel i845G
> Physical Memory : 2048 MB DDR-SDRAM
> LPC bus : Yes
> PCI Bus : Yes
> AGP Bus : Yes
> USB Bus : Yes
> SMBus/i2c Bus : Yes
> Bus HyperTransport : No
> Bus QPI : No
> Bus CardBus : No
> Bus FireWire : No

<<< Processor >>>
> Processor : Intel Pentium 4
> Frequency : 2400 MHz
> Support : Socket 478 mPGA
> Data Cache L1 : 8 KB
> Trace Cache L1 : 12 Kµops
> Cache L2 : 512 KB
> FPU Coprocessor : Present
> Processor activity : : 0%

<<< Video >>>
> Current Display : 800x600 pixels at 60 Hz in True Colors (32-bit)
> Number of monitor : 1
> Monitor Type : Dell Computer DELL 1704FPV
> Video Card : Intel® 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller
> OpenCL : No
> OpenGL : Yes
> GDI Plus : Yes
> Direct2D : No

<<< IO Ports >>>
> Port installed : ECP Printer Port (LPT1)
> Port installed : Communications Port (COM1)
> Port installed : Intel® 82801DB/DBM USB Universal Host Controller - 24C2
> Port installed : Intel® 82801DB/DBM USB Universal Host Controller - 24C4
> Port installed : Intel® 82801DB/DBM USB Universal Host Controller - 24C7
> Port installed : Intel® 82801DB/DBM USB 2.0 Enhanced Host Controller - 24CD

<<< Drives >>>
> Number of Disk Controller : 1
> Number of Hard Disk : 1
> Number of CD-ROM Drive : 1
> Drives Letters : A:\ C:\ D:\ E:\ F:\
> Floppy Disk : 3˝" HD (1.44 Mo)
> Drive C: (Hard Disk) : 315 MB available on 10 GB
> Drive D: (Hard Disk) : 8 GB available on 9 GB
> Drive E: (DVD-Rom) : 0 KB available on 0 KB
> Drive F: (Removable Drive) : 0 KB available on 0 KB

<<< Printers >>>
> Default Printer : HP Officejet 6500 E709n Series
> Printer installed : HP Officejet 6500 E709n Series fax
> Printer installed : HP Officejet 6500 E709n Series
> Printer installed : HP DeskJet 895Cse
> Universal Driver : Not Installed
> Spooler : 0 jobs in queue

<<< Devices >>>
> Type of mouse : PS/2 Compatible Mouse
> Type of keyboard : Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
> Joystick : None
> HID Devices : No
> Modem : Agere Systems PCI-SV92PP Soft Modem
> TWAIN Device : Officejet 6500 E709n TWAIN
> TWAIN Device : WIA-Officejet 6500 E709n
> WIA Device : Officejet 6500 E709n
> SCSI Host #0 : 1 Device(s)
> SCSI Host #1 : 1 Device(s)
> Disque : WDC WD200BB-60CJA0
> Trusted Platform Module : No

<<< Multimedia >>>
> Device Audio : 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller
> Audio Playback : SoundMAX Digital Audio
> Audio Playback : Microsoft Sound Mapper
> Audio Recording : SoundMAX Digital Audio
> MIDI Output : Microsoft GS Wavetable SW Synth
> MIDI Output : Microsoft MIDI Mapper
> Mixer Device : SoundMAX Digital Audio
> Device multimedia : AVIVideo
> Device multimedia : CDAudio
> Device multimedia : Sequencer
> Device multimedia : WaveAudio
> Device multimedia : MPEGVideo
> Audio Compression : Microsoft IMA ADPCM CODEC
> Audio Compression : Microsoft ADPCM CODEC
> Audio Compression : Microsoft CCITT G.711 A-Law and u-Law CODEC
> Audio Compression : Microsoft GSM 6.10 Audio CODEC
> Audio Compression : DSP Group TrueSpeech™ Software CODEC
> Audio Compression : Microsoft G.723.1 CODEC
> Audio Compression : Windows Media Audio
> Audio Compression : Sipro Lab Telecom ACELP.net audio codec
> Audio Compression : Indeo® audio software
> Audio Compression : Fraunhofer IIS MPEG Layer-3 Codec (advanced)
> Audio Compression : Microsoft PCM Converter

<<< Network >>>
> Network : Yes
> Internet Connection : Yes
> RAS Connection : No
> Passport.Net : No
> Winsock32 : v2.02
> Network Connection : Local Area Connection
> Network Card : Intel® PRO/1000 MT Network Connection
> Share : 1 Resources
> Local Group : Administrators
> Local Group : Guests
> Local Group : Users
> Local Group : HelpServicesGroup

<<< Power Status >>>
> Power Status : Yes
> Battery : No
> Supply : Main supply
> Active Power Scheme : Home/Office Desk
> UPS : No
> ACPI Tables : 9

<<< Voltage, Temperature and Fans >>>

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
***** End of report *****

Edited by john god, 03 April 2010 - 05:00 PM.

  • 0

#7
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,307 posts
Please get the info that Rshaffer61 has asked for.

You only have a 20gb hard drive. The system drive is only 10gb with 315mb left.
Not sure what the drive D is.

Drive C: (Hard Disk) : 315 MB available on 10 GB
> Drive D: (Hard Disk) : 8 GB available on 9 GB


Lets clean up temp files and cache. That will help some, but we need to take a serious look at hard drive space and what is installed.
Please download ATF Cleaner by Atribune.

Double-click ATF-Cleaner.exe to run the program.
Under Main choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
If you use Firefox browser[list]Click Firefox at the top and choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click No at the prompt.
If you use Opera browser[list]Click Opera at the top and choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click No at the prompt.
Click Exit on the Main menu to close the program.
For Technical Support, double-click the e-mail address located at the bottom of each menu.

Then lets defrag. This may not work because there may not be enough free space.
Download Auslogics Defrag from the link in my signature below. Auslogics Defrag in my opinion is better because:

It does a more comprehensive job at Defragging
It will actually show you what it is doing
At the end of working it will show you how much speed you picked up
You can view a online log of the files that Auslogics defragged

http://auslogics.com...defrag/download
  • 0

#8
john god

john god

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 418 posts
Here is the info rshaffer61 asked for.
I think I copied it right.

Sorry ,I tried to copy it from my desktop but it didn't work.
I have the computer management on my desktop.
I copied it, but when I go to paste it,it doesn't paste.
Would my Print Screen have anything to do with it?
Any other way to paste it, so you guys can take a look?


I ran ATF Cleaner and Auslogics Defrag.
It opened up some space on my C Drive.
Defrag detected 4 junk files and 1 registry error.
But it didn't show me how to fix these items.


I tried to copy again today without any luck.
The hard drive within' disk management will not highlight to copy.

Edited by john god, 04 April 2010 - 08:43 AM.

  • 0

#9
john god

john god

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 418 posts
Hi Guys,
Thanks for all your help.
Have to go for now,will talk to you latter.
When I come back, we can do anything else that needs to be done
Let me now if there is any other way,to do what Rshaffer61 wanted.
Have a good weekend and Happy Easter.
I really appreciate everything.
John
  • 0

#10
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Redo the steps i gave. No where does it say to copy the information but to take a screenshot and the attach that screenshot to your reply.
Open compmgmt.msc again. Left side click on disk management.
Right side make sure window is open so we can see all details and then follow instructions to take a screenshot.
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
john god

john god

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 418 posts
Hello rshaffer61,

Sorry I had to leave for awhile, but I was down South Jersey at my daughters looking for a job.
I will try and do the screenshot again, please bear with me.

Please let me know if I attached it right.
Thanks

Attached Thumbnails

  • untitled.JPG

  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK if i am seeing this right your C drive is 9.83 gigs total and it looks to only have 800 megs or so free.
This being the case then the problem seems to be hard drive space which would mean no matter how much memory you put in the system will not function correctly.
XP needs about 15% of the drive free to function correctly.
My advise is look at replacing the hd first to give yourself some breathing room.
  • 0

#13
john god

john god

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 418 posts
Thanks for all your help and input.

If you don't mind, where wood I get a reasonable hard drive and what wood you recommend I get? Total gigs..
  • 0

#14
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
NewEgg 80 gig drives

TigerDirect 80 gig drives

These would be 4 times the capacity of what you currently have.
  • 0

#15
john god

john god

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 418 posts
Thanks.
Is there a certain model I need for the Dell?
Is it 3.5" IDE Maxtor?

Edited by john god, 13 April 2010 - 02:09 PM.

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP