Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

First Time Build!

• Please log in to reply

DerekFantin

DerekFantin

• Pip
  • 4 posts
I am planning on building a computer that can play games like Modern Warfare 2 and World of Warcraft and also keep up with video editing and all that kinda stuff. I am just starting out with computer building so i am not really sure what to look for. i was hoping to keep it around $600 - $700 Canadian. i have spent some time looking around www.newegg.ca but am lost on what to look for. If i could get some recommendations on some parts that would be wonderful.

Thanks in advance, Derek

Advertisements

Ferrari

Ferrari

PC SURGEON

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,939 posts
Hi Derek and welcome to Geekstogo! :)

I'd say you would probably get the best bang for your buck going with AMD on this build. It offers some pretty nice hardware for a much lower cost than Intel.

I think a processor like an Athlon II x2 240 Regor by AMD would be a good starting point for your budget. An Athlon II x4 or Phenom II might fit in your budget as well. Combine that with a motherboard that supports the processor somewhere in the $70-$100 range. Good ones to look at are ASUS or Gigabyte boards. The most expensive part of your build will probably be the graphics card since you are wanting to game with this unit. Again, AMD offers a pretty nice product for the money. I would look at the 4870 or 48XX series or 57XX series by ATI Radeon. XX = just fill in the blank with different models offered.