Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Windows Vista WEIRD restart issue.

• Please log in to reply

Jack Hoff

Jack Hoff

• Pip
  • 5 posts
Hello, I am not a computer illiterate person. Meaning I do not ask where to power it on, or why my Windows Vista keeps restarting with the update 3/3 0% error. Out of 2 years with this computer, this is my first time actually needing help.

I run a Windows Vista, 3GB Ram, 2.0Ghz Duo Core intel centrino.
220gb hard disk, 512mb ATI Radeon HD.

Here's the story:

I was on my computer (not the internet) and I decided to check my video settings for ATI Radeon. I was comparing texture quality when the computer restarted itself. It did this as much as it wanted. So I turned it off for a few hours, turned it back on and it worked fine. For a few hours. Then it restarted itself AGAIN.

If I let it keep restarting it will keep going in a continuous loop. It isn't a boot error, since I CAN get logged on, presuming I allow the computer to rest for a few hours.

Some possibilities I think it may be:
-Something stored in my 3gb of RAM that only gets run into once in a blue moon, but once it gets triggered
it'll restart the computer, and since that was the las,t freshest thing in the RAM, it'll keep restarting. Much quicker than the first time.
-Hard Drive is starting to die off? Unlikely but...

-Well, it can't be overheating because:
1) I use speedfan to check my temperatures.
2)I clean out my ventilation system once every 4 months

Times it'll restart: