Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

unexpected shutdown while using windows xp

• Please log in to reply

missytrix24

missytrix24

• PipPip
  • 91 posts
I am a technical layman and on searching the forums for a similar problem, I have not found one that matches exactly.

My problem is that while using my laptop, it sometimes just switches itself off while plugged in and when I power it on again, the desktop has a white background with a message stating it is now in 'active desktop recovery mode' and that the compouter may have shut down unexpectedly and it lists a few solutions with one being 'restore my active desktop' but when I click that, nothing happens and I just go into the control panel and re-select the picture i use for my destop background.

I don't know why this is happening, and have scanned my com for viruses and defragmented it, but this sudden shutdown keeps occuring. At 1st I thought it may have something to do with overheating, as I found that when I elevated the laptop higher (by placing books, under the 4 feet), the shut down didn't happen as quickly, but it still happens, even when I have it elevated higher. I have 2 fan vent holes and the one neareast the adapter plug gets quite warm.

The fan may have nothing to do with it, but it does not shutdown as fast when elevated.

Does anybody know what is going on?

I appreciate any help.

Advertisements

Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,237 posts