Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

first build, budget gamer

• Please log in to reply

sparrownine

sparrownine

• Pip
  • 2 posts
total newbie to this, but trying really hard. i mostly just want to be able to run WoW at very high settings with decently high framerate during major activities (you know, not just running around and looking at trees, but in raids).

Thermaltake V9 Black Edition ATX Computer Gaming Chassis
LG 22X DVD Burner
SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 HD502HJ 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
EVGA 512-P3-N871-AR GeForce 9800 GTX+ video card
SILVERSTONE ST50F-ES 500W ATX12V v2.3 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply
Crucial 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM
MSI P43-C51 LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale

basically i was wondering if anyone could throw up a big warning flag if my psu isn't powerful enough or if some compatibility rules among the other parts are going way over my head. any suggestions whatsoever would be immensely helpful. i'm trying to keep it under $1000. got the monitor and windows 7 home premium covered.

thanks so much in advance!

Advertisements

Ferrari

Ferrari

PC SURGEON

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,939 posts
Hi sparrownine, Welcome to Geekstogo! :)

That would of been a very nice build about 2 years ago or so. I think you should step up into the Core "i" series of CPU's/Technology with a budget of about $1000. Newer, faster, Upgradeable, etc. Then bump the video card up a bit with ATI's new 5k series of cards that support 3 monitors and DirectX 11.