Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

A recent build computer, memory error


  • Please log in to reply

#1
overclick.cn

overclick.cn

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
Hi,

I just recently bought this built computer and here are its specs:

# AMD Phenom II X4 Processor 955 (3.2GHz) AM3

# THERMALTAKE HIGH PERFORMANCE CPU COOLER

# ASRock M3A785GXH/128M Motherboard

# 4GB DDR3 1333MHz PC3-10600

# Hitachi/WD 500GB 0A33437 SATA2 U300 7200rpm 16MB RoHS

# LG/SAMSUNG 22X DVD-RW DUAL LAYER W/LIGHTSCRIBE

# ATI Radeon HD 3200 FULL HD 1080p 512MB DVI/HDTV PCI-Express Video Card (Onboard)

# REALTEK 8-CHANNEL DIGITAL SOUND ONBOARD

# REALTEK 10/100/1000 Gigabit Network Card (onboard)

# OKIA 80MM CASE COOLER

# OKIA 550 WATT POWER SUPPLY

But when I use SIW (System Information for Windows) software to look up the information for memory, it shows that the speed is only 553MHz, why is that? I'm still a newbie so please be patient with me. Thanks.

Here's the memory summary I got from SIW:


Device Locator Slot 1
Maximum Capacity 8192 MBytes
Maximum Memory Module Size 2048 MBytes
Memory Slots 4
Error Correction None
DRAM Frequency 532.2 MHz
Memory Timings 8-8-7-16 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)
Device Locator Slot 1
Manufacturer OCZ
Part Number OCZ3G1333LV2G
Capacity 2048 MBytes
Memory Type DDR3 (PC3-8500F)
Speed 533 MHz (DDR3 1066)
Supported Frequencies 381.0 MHz, 457.1 MHz, 533.3 MHz, 609.5 MHz
Memory Timings 5-5-5-12-19 at 381.0 MHz, at 1.5 volts (CL-RCD-RP-RAS-RC)
Memory Timings 6-6-6-14-23 at 457.1 MHz, at 1.5 volts (CL-RCD-RP-RAS-RC)
Memory Timings 7-7-7-16-27 at 533.3 MHz, at 1.5 volts (CL-RCD-RP-RAS-RC)
Memory Timings 8-8-8-19-31 at 609.5 MHz, at 1.5 volts (CL-RCD-RP-RAS-RC)
EPP SPD Support No
XMP SPD Support No


Device Locator Slot 2
Manufacturer OCZ
Part Number OCZ3G1333LV2G
Capacity 2048 MBytes
Memory Type DDR3 (PC3-8500F)
Speed 533 MHz (DDR3 1066)
Supported Frequencies 381.0 MHz, 457.1 MHz, 533.3 MHz, 609.5 MHz
Memory Timings 5-5-5-12-19 at 381.0 MHz, at 1.5 volts (CL-RCD-RP-RAS-RC)
Memory Timings 6-6-6-14-23 at 457.1 MHz, at 1.5 volts (CL-RCD-RP-RAS-RC)
Memory Timings 7-7-7-16-27 at 533.3 MHz, at 1.5 volts (CL-RCD-RP-RAS-RC)
Memory Timings 8-8-8-19-31 at 609.5 MHz, at 1.5 volts (CL-RCD-RP-RAS-RC)
EPP SPD Support No
XMP SPD Support No

Edited by overclick.cn, 11 April 2010 - 10:42 AM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#2
diabillic

diabillic

    Member 1K

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,370 posts
Try setting your BIOS to default settings. Perhaps an upgrade would help as well.

Is that memory on the vendor's qualified list of RAM? If not, it could have compatibility issues with the board and not be reporting the correct speed.
  • 0

#3
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
are you OCing...if so stop...
go here and get CPU-Z 1.54
after downloading click on memory ...get a screenshot...then click on SPD and get a screenshot of that as well
good read here about Understanding System Memory and CPU speeds...
you can get your mobo users manual here...
on page 58 you will see how to set the ram timings to get to 667MHz...that equals DDR3 1333

Edited by happyrock, 14 April 2010 - 10:31 AM.

  • 0

#4
overclick.cn

overclick.cn

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts

Try setting your BIOS to default settings. Perhaps an upgrade would help as well.

Is that memory on the vendor's qualified list of RAM? If not, it could have compatibility issues with the board and not be reporting the correct speed.


I don't think it's on there but the memory is compatible with the board. I confirmed this with some tech.

are you OCing...if so stop...
go here and get CPU-Z 1.54
after downloading click on memory ...get a screenshot...then click on SPD and get a screenshot of that as well
good read here about Understanding System Memory and CPU speeds...
you can get your mobo users manual here...
on page 58 you will see how to set the ram timings to get to 667MHz...that equals DDR3 1333


Thanks for helping. I'm not overclocking the memory.

Here's the screenshot you wanted: http://img689.images...663/memoryj.jpg

There are 4 memory slots on the board, slot 3 and 4 are in use. Slot 4 is the same as slot 3 so I didn't put it in there.
  • 0

#5
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
did you download your mobo manual...did you read page 58
  • 0

#6
overclick.cn

overclick.cn

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
I did read it. I just don't really understand it though. I went to the BIOS Utility and changed the Memory Clock to 667MHz but is that it?
  • 0

#7
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
what does CPU-Z say your speed is now
  • 0

#8
overclick.cn

overclick.cn

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
In the Memory tab, the DRAM Frequency reads 665.3MHz
  • 0

#9
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
screenshots please
  • 0

#10
overclick.cn

overclick.cn

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
Sorry. Here it is: http://img100.images.../3290/shotr.jpg
  • 0

#11
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
thats it...your ram is now set to run at 1333MHz

Edited by happyrock, 18 April 2010 - 08:46 AM.

  • 0

#12
overclick.cn

overclick.cn

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 47 posts
I see. Thanks for helping. Have a nice day :)
  • 0

#13
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
your welcome... :)
  • 0

#14
Troy

Troy

    Tech Staff

  • Technician
  • 8,839 posts
To put it simply... DDR = Double Data Rate :)
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP