Jump to content

Free help from tech experts
Welcome to Geeks to Go forums. Create an account now to gain access to all our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing topics, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. Best of all, registration and all assistance is 100% free! This message, and all ads will be removed once you have signed in.
Sign In Create Account

My computer keeps freezing up


  • Please log in to reply

#1
captainmac1313

captainmac1313

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
I recently removed a Trojan that I thought was causing this trouble, but my computer still is freezing up on me. Here is my last topic: http://www.geekstogo...o....html&st=15

It can happen any time whether I'm playing a game to just surfing the internet. I'm not going to bad sites, it happens at ESPN or Yahoo or Google.

I have updated all my drivers for my hardware thinking that's what was causing it, but it's not. I thought maybe it could be my Ethernet port so I uninstalled it and put a new one in. Still the same problem. I have since re-installed my original one. I can't be on my computer for more than an hour without it locking up on me.

Let me know what info you need from me and I will provide it. Please let me know what I need to do (instruction-wise) and I will start that when I get home from work.

Thank you,

CaptainMac
  • 0

Similar Topics: My computer keeps freezing up     x


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 33,748 posts
Welcome to the XP forum and let's see if we can resolve your freezing issue. This may take several steps but please be patient and I will stay with you till we get it figured out.
Go to
Start and then to Run
Type in Chkdsk /r Note the space between k and /
Click Enter ...It will probably ask if you want to do this on the next reboot...click Y
If the window doesn't shutdown on its own then reboot the system manually. On reboot the system will start the chkdsk operation
This one will take longer then chkdsk /f

Note... there are 5 stages...
It may appear to hang at a certain percent for a hour or more or even back up and go over the same area...this is normal...
DO NOT SHUT YOUR COMPUTER DOWN WHILE CHKDSK IS RUNNING OR YOU CAN HAVE SEVERE PROBLEMS
This can take several hours to complete.
When completed it will boot the system back into windows.

Let me know if this fixes the problem
  • 0

#3
captainmac1313

captainmac1313

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
I ran chkdsk /r and rebooted. When my comp started back up, it said it was checking the disk and that it was clean. What would be the next option?
  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 33,748 posts
OK well we keep checking hardware till we eliminate anything there. Before we get to far into that I would like to check a few things with the OS.
Download Autoruns from the link in my signature below:
1: Extract the Autoruns Zip file contents to a folder.
2: Double-click the "Autoruns.exe".
3: Click on the "Everything" tab
4: Remove any entries that mention "File Not Found" by right-clicking the entry and select Delete.
5: Go to File then to Export As or Save in some versions.
6: Save AutoRuns.txt file to known location like your Desktop.
7: Attach to your next reply.


Download and install Free Everest Home Edition
Open it.
1: In left pane expand Computer folder.
2: Click once on Summary
3: In upper menu, go Report
4: And then to Quick Report-Summary
5: Save it in text file, and paste it in your next post.
Click the + by computer, click on Sensor. Get a screenshot and post it so I can check your temps and voltages...

DO NOT INCLUDE ANYTHING UNDER THE LINE THAT SAYS "DEBUG- PCI"
  • 0

#5
captainmac1313

captainmac1313

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
I have attached the Autoruns log and my temps. Here is the Everest summary:

--------[ EVEREST Home Edition © 2003-2005 Lavalys, Inc. ]------------------------------------------------------------

Version EVEREST v2.20.405
Homepage http://www.lavalys.com/
Report Type Quick Report
Computer YEAH (poop)
Generator Adam
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.1.2600 (WinXP Retail)
Date 2010-04-12
Time 21:27


--------[ Summary ]-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Computer:
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional
OS Service Pack Service Pack 3
DirectX 4.09.00.0904 (DirectX 9.0c)
Computer Name YEAH (poop)
User Name Adam

Motherboard:
CPU Type AMD Athlon 64, 2200 MHz (11 x 200) 3200+
Motherboard Name Asus K8V SE Deluxe (5 PCI, 1 AGP, 1 WiFi, 3 DDR DIMM, Audio, Gigabit LAN, IEEE-1394)
Motherboard Chipset VIA VT8383 Apollo K8T800, AMD Hammer
System Memory 3072 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)
BIOS Type AMI (02/09/04)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM1)
Communication Port Communications Port (COM2)
Communication Port Printer Port (LPT1)

Display:
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce 7800 GS (256 MB)
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce 7800 GS (256 MB)
Monitor Plug and Play Monitor [NoDB] (162016843009)
Monitor Xerox XL-775D [17" LCD] (FJHZ44101679U)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter Creative SB0350 Audigy 2 ZS Sound Card

Storage:
IDE Controller VIA Bus Master IDE Controller - 0571
SCSI/RAID Controller VIA RAID Controller - 3149
Floppy Drive Floppy disk drive
Disk Drive ST3200822A (200 GB, 7200 RPM, Ultra-ATA/100)
Optical Drive HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GH22NP20
Optical Drive HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GSA-H55L
SMART Hard Disks Status OK

Partitions:
C: (NTFS) 190771 MB (66167 MB free)

Input:
Keyboard Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mouse HID-compliant mouse
Game Controller Microsoft PC-joystick driver

Network:
Network Adapter Marvell Yukon 88E8001/8003/8010 PCI Gigabit Ethernet Controller (192.168.1.101)

Peripherals:
Printer \\PRINTER\Lexmark Optra S 1625 (MS)
Printer Microsoft Office Document Image Writer
Printer Microsoft XPS Document Writer
USB1 Controller VIA VT83C572 PCI-USB Controller
USB1 Controller VIA VT83C572 PCI-USB Controller
USB1 Controller VIA VT83C572 PCI-USB Controller
USB1 Controller VIA VT83C572 PCI-USB Controller
USB2 Controller VIA USB 2.0 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Device DUALSHOCK3 Controller HID Minidriver (USB) Beta
USB Device USB Human Interface Device

Attached Thumbnails

  • Everest.GIF

Attached Files


  • 0

#6
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 33,748 posts
Temps all are within acceptable ranges.
HD free space is just short of 30 percent which is good.
Memory total is good.
Autoruns are not bad at all.

Next step is to check HD and Memory.

Run hard drive diagnostics: http://www.tacktech....ay.cfm?ttid=287
Make sure, you select tool, which is appropriate for the brand of your hard drive.
Depending on the program, it'll create bootable floppy, or bootable CD.
If downloaded file is of .iso type, use ImgBurn: http://www.imgburn.com/ to burn .iso file to a CD (select "Write image file to disc" option), and make the CD bootable.

NOTE. If your hard drive is made by Toshiba, unfortunately, you're out of luck, because Toshiba doesn't provide any diagnostic tool.

Thanks to Broni for the instructions
  • 0

#7
Mohammad Ashraf Dar

Mohammad Ashraf Dar

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
Hi captainmac1313,

As I understand your issue seems to be because of some hardware configuration.

Your first question is your system freezes while playing a game, it could be because the game you are playing needs more graphics memory as you have 256 MB graphics memory.


This should resolve the issue, however I would suggest you that you should partition your hard disk to improve perfomance of your machine.

Please let me know the status after doing all the above mentioned steps.

Edited by Rorschach112, 19 April 2010 - 11:59 AM.
removed reg cleaner advice

  • 0

#8
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 33,748 posts
GTG does not advise the use of any registry cleaner. The cleaning of temp files and internet cache files can be done with programs we do use.
A registry cleaner will not increase your system's speed or performance, and has the potential to break your registry to the point that your PC is no longer bootable.
We strongly advise that people stay away from any of the registry cleaners out there.
Go HERE to get more information about why registry cleaners aren't needed.


Thanks to Sari for the explanation
  • 0

#9
captainmac1313

captainmac1313

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
I made the CD using the Seagate .iso. One question, how do I make sure it's a bootable cd? The file sys said this: ISO9660 (Bootable). What is the next step?
  • 0

#10
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 33,748 posts
If you are talking about the HD diagnostics the instructions i gave also mention a program to get to burn the iso r image file so it is bootable.
  • 0

#11
captainmac1313

captainmac1313

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
Yeah, the ImgBurn. I used that to burn the .iso file to a cd.
  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 33,748 posts
If you burned it as instructed the cd should be bootable. You will need to change the boot sequence in your bios to make the cdrom the first boot device.

To change Boot Sequence in your BIOS
Reboot the system and at the first post screen (where it is counting up memory) start tapping the DEL button
This will enter you into the Bios\Cmos area.
Find the Advanced area and click Enter
Look for Boot Sequence or Boot Options and highlight that click Enter
Now highlight the first drive and follow the directions on the bottom of the screen on how to modify it and change it to CDrom.
Change the second drive to the C or Main Drive
Once that is done then click F10 to Save and Exit
You will prompted to enter Y to verify Save and Exit. Click Y and the system will now reboot with the new settings.

Hopefully you have already put the HD Diagnostic cd in the drive before all this. If everything is setup correctly you will get a black screen with the following message in the upper left corner:
"Push Any Key To Boot To Cd". When you see this then push any key and the cd will take over. Then follow the prompts or if you need assistance we will help.

  • 0

#13
captainmac1313

captainmac1313

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
What should I be seeing now? I followed the directions to a tee. I downloaded the seagate iso file. I downloaded the ImgBurn program. I followed your directions to "write a file to cd". I didn't see an option to check or whatever to make cd bootable but created it anyway. Then I made a bootable cd uaing my nero just in case. I changes the order of loading. I used the first disc but it never asked me to press any to boot from cd, it just started up into SeaTools DOS. It did some device scan then nothing else. I exited and rebooted with the other cd just to see. It went into some Dr. DOS and went through some loading and then nothing. Is there something I'm soing wrong or missing here?
  • 0

#14
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 33,748 posts
Iso or Image file is self booting
If file is burned as data or disk is burned as a bootable disk it will not work.
You should be presented with normal and advanced tests.
Run normal to see if the hd is ok.
  • 0

#15
captainmac1313

captainmac1313

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
Ok. Then the one I burned from ImgBurn ran the Seagate basic test. It didn't say there were any problems that I saw. It ran a device check.

Edit: I am running a long test on my hard drive using the Seagate Tools for DOS right now and will post result

Edited by captainmac1313, 13 April 2010 - 09:28 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

featured