Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

programs keap crashing and loosing conection


  • Please log in to reply

#16
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
try this...
TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP

For these commands click on Start.... Run..... type in...CMD ....click OK

To Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults...type in ... netsh winsock reset catalog .... press ...enter

To Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults...type in...... netsh int ip reset reset.log ... press ...enter

To repair and reset Windows Vista

1. Click on Start button.
2. Type Cmd in the Start Search text box.
3. Press Ctrl-Shift-Enter keyboard shortcut to run Command Prompt as Administrator. Allow elevation request.
4. Type netsh winsock reset in the Command Prompt shell, and then press the Enter key.
5. Restart the computer.
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
diabillic

diabillic

    Member 1K

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,370 posts
I would also make sure your ethernet drivers are up to date. I've seen faulty drivers cause a connection to drop frequently and I wouldnt rule that out.
  • 0

#18
Killza

Killza

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts

try this...
TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP

For these commands click on Start.... Run..... type in...CMD ....click OK

To Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults...type in ... netsh winsock reset catalog .... press ...enter

To Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults...type in...... netsh int ip reset reset.log ... press ...enter

To repair and reset Windows Vista

1. Click on Start button.
2. Type Cmd in the Start Search text box.
3. Press Ctrl-Shift-Enter keyboard shortcut to run Command Prompt as Administrator. Allow elevation request.
4. Type netsh winsock reset in the Command Prompt shell, and then press the Enter key.
5. Restart the computer.



First thanks every one that are trying to help me :)

I did try that for XP after first comand it said i need to restart and after second nothing happened exept that it went one line down ... idk if i did it corect , then i restarted but not much changed ... browsing is still lagy .
Did a speed test and results are :
download : 1.61 mb/s
upload : 1.40 mb/s

wich is not eaven close to 15mb/s that i pay for lol
  • 0

#19
Killza

Killza

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts

I would also make sure your ethernet drivers are up to date. I've seen faulty drivers cause a connection to drop frequently and I wouldnt rule that out.


how can i chek this ? and where do i get those drivers ?
Sory im a noob in this things i only instal things that you get with your hardware :)
  • 0

#20
Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster

    7k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,237 posts
http://www.nvidia.co...p_15.45_uk.html
Go to this link, it is NOT on the right driver. Go to downloads, select your product, check the driver version for the ethernet driver against the driver shown on your device manager for network adapters
To go there click Start, right click My Computer, click Properties click Hardware tab, click Device Manager.
Open Network Adapters and look at the driver version.
Make a note of it and then compare it with the Nvidia
  • 0

#21
Killza

Killza

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
On my mother board it says Nvidia Nforce 4 sli ... chipset

its Asus A8N-SLI SE motherboard

the link you gave me i dont finde Nforce 4 option .... only 5,6,7,9 and 2000 , 3000 profesional :) wich one to choose , i dont want to mess up again lol


Oh and one more thing is this usefull or just another program after you instal it they try to sell you a bounch of useless stuf ?
http://www.smarttweak.com/umd/details/

Attached Thumbnails

  • SLI.JPG

Edited by Killza, 16 April 2010 - 03:39 PM.

  • 0

#22
Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster

    7k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,237 posts
http://www.pcpitstop...Controller.html
see this, but I do not think it is a driver issue.
HOWEVER it will do no harm to have the up to date one.

Edited by Macboatmaster, 16 April 2010 - 03:45 PM.

  • 0

#23
Killza

Killza

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
Thank you wery much :)
will instal it nou and see if things will go faster ... hehe
  • 0

#24
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts

I did try that for XP after first comand it said i need to restart and after second nothing happened exept that it went one line down ... idk if i did it corect , then i restarted but not much changed ... browsing is still lagy .
Did a speed test and results are :
download : 1.61 mb/s
upload : 1.40 mb/s

wich is not eaven close to 15mb/s that i pay for lol

what is your monthly charge for 15Mbs a month
do the speed test again but this time get a screenshot for us when you get the results...
if you don't know how to post a screenshot...go here...
  • 0

#25
Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster

    7k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,237 posts
Happyrock
May I ask if you have noticed that he had installed Uniblue Registry Booster, I noticed it on the screenshot I asked for. It is on post 8.
You are far far more experienced than me on this unwanted software. I sent him the unninstall link from
Uniblue (such as it is) I feel reasonably certain that Uniblue was the cause of the problem.
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
Killza

Killza

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
It took allmost 1h to download 30mb file and i cant eaven istal it lol :)

i pay 40 eur for one month its around 60 $ not cheap if on average people earn here around 1000-1500$ lol

Attached Thumbnails

  • untitled.JPG
  • untitled2.JPG

  • 0

#27
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
Macboatmaster...about Uniblue...I thought it had been uninstall a loooong time ago...if not it should be

contact your isp...give them your speedtest results...they will test your speeds...it may just be a filter that throttles your connection they put on your line that's screwing up
  • 0

#28
Killza

Killza

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
I did uninstal reg booster at add remove programs .... is that enough ?

I will try that i hope that will fix it , tough dont know whay would they mess up nou it was working fine before ...
must chek if they work during wekends lol yeh i know Isp should be on 24/7 for suport ... but not mine eaven during the weak they have working hours from 8.00 to 18.00 lol

I tought that when i formated and reinstal windows i screw up some where idk lol

But thanks for your help guys ...
  • 0

#29
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts

I did uninstal reg booster at add remove programs .... is that enough ?

yep...
unfortunately it may well be the cause of your problem..
we will still have to wait and see what speed your isp says your getting to make sure its not on their end...
good luck getting them on the weekends.. :)

Edited by happyrock, 16 April 2010 - 05:41 PM.

  • 0

#30
Killza

Killza

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
Thanks :)
if not solved sya next weak again :) :) :)
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP