Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

programs keap crashing and loosing conection


  • Please log in to reply

#31
Killza

Killza

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
Ok i did call my ISP they said there is nothing wrong from their side im open to 15mb/s and thats it :) they said they will contact me if some thing shows up coz they noticed that there is some knide of interfirence idk what he meant exactly or how to say it lol
they mention that there is a posibility that there is some thing wrong with my cable betwin modem and my PC or eaven my modem :)

So the problem is still here and im starting to loose my minde with this slow conection :)

So guys any new idea how to test whats wrong ?

Ty ...
  • 0

Advertisements


#32
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,306 posts
Reset the modem. Unplug it and then plug it back in.
Try replacing the cable between the modem and the computer.
  • 0

#33
Killza

Killza

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
Allready tryed that ....
  • 0

#34
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

they said there is nothing wrong from their side im open to 15mb/s and thats it wacko.gif they said they will contact me if some thing shows up coz they noticed that there is some knide of interfirence idk what he meant exactly or how to say it lol
they mention that there is a posibility that there is some thing wrong with my cable betwin modem and my PC or eaven my modem

If nothing wrong they wouldn't see anything.
What they are seeing is a drop in signal on your modem most likely.
I would say it is a faulty modem and cable. How old is the modem itself you are using?
Was it supplied by your ISP?
If so then request they replace it if more then 2 years old as technology has changed. They should have no problem in exchanging it for nothing more to make sure their equipment is working correctly.
  • 0

#35
Killza

Killza

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
[bleep] [bleep]s :) sory for my words guys . I tought that he didnt tell me every thing and he probably didnt tell it further as he promised that he will tell to service guys and that they will call me and try to fix the problem and that was one weak ago lol
No one called or came to fix the problem .

The model of the modem is probably 10 years old :) i have it for 3-4 years .. its Thomson TCM420 and yes they gave it to me .

Edited by Killza, 23 April 2010 - 05:06 PM.

  • 0

#36
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Well I would check to make sure if you are paying a rental on that modem. Second of all being 10 years old it is definitely in need of being replaced.
From what I have found the documentation is at least 4 years old.
  • 0

#37
Killza

Killza

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
I will call them again on monday and tell them to move their asses and chek if they can fix it or give me new modem lol
If they dont fix the problem ill be back here next week with updates .

Thanks for nou :)
  • 0

#38
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Another little piece of advice... check your internet bill and see if you are paying for a rental or lease on the modem. If so then they are for sure responsible for replacement of any suspected failing property.
  • 0

#39
Killza

Killza

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
Thank you :) yes i do pay for it ...
talked to tech suport from my ISP tooday again because last time they didnt send any one to chek the signal and if every thing is ok with my modem and i didnt bugg them because last weak the conection was working just fine lol
Nou they promised that they will defently send some one this monday or tuesday ... we will see :)

i will report what they say and if the problem is fixed or not .
  • 0

#40
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Thanks and I have a feeling they will find a loss of signal as being the culprit or line noise.
The only other option is a failing modem.

Edited by rshaffer61, 08 May 2010 - 04:33 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#41
Killza

Killza

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
Ok the tech guy wisited me tooday ... tested the signal and the modem and both are working fine :) saw it with my own eyes on his notebook the conection was 15MB/s .

He said the strange thing is that when we restarted my PC the modem went OFF and back ON wich it shouldnt do and that there is a posibility that some software is messing with my conection . So the problem is ether in my PC or the Software :)
He said he dont know what exactly is causing this coz he is not so much in to software and this tipe of stuf and that i will have to figure out on my own or call another tech guy for this tipe of stuf . I dont have the money for another specialist for this lol

But how can i figure out what exactly is causing drops in conection to 0.5 Mb/s lol and why when my PC restarts my modem restarts too .

Please help me guys :)
  • 0

#42
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

He said the strange thing is that when we restarted my PC the modem went OFF and back ON wich it shouldnt do and that there is a posibility that some software is messing with my conection . So the problem is ether in my PC or the Software

I've been doing this for a lot of years and have never seen software turn a external modem off.
Now the issue is either the nic card or the line going to the modem.
If either is failing the result could be what you are describing.
Since you have replaced the line from the system to the modem then we have to look at the nic card itself in your system.
  • 0

#43
Killza

Killza

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
He didnt exactly said that the software is turning off my modem but that my PC does or some thing .. and for drop in conection there is a posibilitiy that the software is mesing up some thing idk

yesterday i did try some thing and i plug the cable from my modem to eternet card wich i still had from my last PC coz i allready tought that there is a problem with my mother board but still the same .

Line should be ok coz he used this line to plug in to his PC ... and what is NIC card ?
  • 0

#44
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Nic is Network Interface Card
It is where the line plugs into the back of your system. It looks like a large phone line.
  • 0

#45
Killza

Killza

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
AhA thats what i tryed :) before i had this cable pluged in directly to my mother board coz it allready has integrated NIC and i tought that the problem is in the hardware so because i had and extra NIC card i pluged it in to motherboard and conected to modem via this card and not directly to motherboard .
But its still the same because last night internet was working fine ...so i did a speed test and it was 15MB/s download and 1.7 Mb/s upload thats ok .. but this morning internet was lagy as [bleep] again so i did speed test again and it was 0.7Mb/s download and 1.5Mb/s upload lol So i guess its not the problem with my NIC card or integrated NIC on my motherboard ... i think both cards cant have same problem and the one i plug in is basicly new .

Idk maybe i messed up some where after i formated my PC and instal some crapy software or program wich messed up my PC because before the internet was working beter than nou eaven with a bounch of viruses i had on lol Nou i dont want to format it again because if i do and the problem stays i will loose half a day for nothing :)

Tooday after tech guy from my ISP tested the speed on my PC and saw the problem he cheked signal and my modem and said its ok ...then he restarted my PC and rapidly tested speed and every time it was from 13 to 15 Mb/s download that was strange he said coz the modem would crash or block if the problem would be with modem and the strange thing for him was as i mention before that when he restarted my PC modem restarted too wich means that some how my PC restarted the modem too :) so after he left i went back to work and left my PC ON ... when i came back i chek my speed again and guess what the download is 1.39 Mb/s and upload 1.37 Mb/s :) i guess that after some time it goes nutz and start to work slow again lol
Idk i think this are all the details with what i can come up wright nou i hope it helps to understand my problem a litle bit beter .

Edited by Killza, 10 May 2010 - 12:48 PM.

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP