Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

What componants do I need to build my PC

• Please log in to reply

DIYPC

DIYPC

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi I really need some help here!

I need to build a PC it's my first build. so if i choose a motherboard then i find what is compatable is this right.
If i could just work out which componants to get i can use the walk through on this site to build it.
PC is for surfing internet, email, photo storage, school work,
some online games not big games,watching videos etc
Im in Australia so I will probly buy from mwave, PC superstore somewhere like that
spend under $800. AU
a shop quote was $1100. with GIGABYTE GA MA77Ot UD3 for an idea of what system they were looking at.
Ive got a screen, keyboard, mouse, speakers
can you get a case with 4 USB or do i need a USB card thingy? Do I need a tall or mini tower.Why is it that the flat desk top cases not popular the ones you can put
I will need OS windows 7
Expandable Mother board (how do I know if its expandable)

thanks so much

Advertisements

Ferrari

Ferrari

PC SURGEON

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,939 posts
I recommend going with AMD to save on the build and let you have an SSD for your main hard drive for Windows 7 and your main programs. Then use the 1TB Hard Drive for data storage. AMD makes a very quality product. Intel is good too, but more expensive. Take a look at a mock build I put together for you...

Athlon II x2 3.0ghz AMD Processor - $64
Gigabyte 785g Chipset Motherboard - $80
4gb (2gb x 2)1066mhz Kingston HyperX Memory - $120