Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Viruses? Computer shuts off by itself..


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Duke1

Duke1

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
These past few days have been quite annoying, my computer seems to randomly shut off. I don't know if it's viruses or maybe something that has do with power. I've tried to do virus scans but my computer would shut off during the scan.
Here's a log..

Thanks in advance for your help

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 2:18:56 AM, on 5/21/2005
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgcc.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgemc.exe
C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_02\bin\jusched.exe
C:\Program Files\Winamp\winampa.exe
C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Works Shared\wkcalrem.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgamsvr.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgupsvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Ryan\Desktop\HijackThis.exe

O2 - BHO: My Search BHO - {014DA6C1-189F-421a-88CD-07CFE51CFF10} - C:\Program Files\MySearch\bar\4.bin\S4BAR.DLL
O2 - BHO: AltaVista Toolbar - {4E7BD74F-2B8D-469E-92EA-EC65A294AE31} - C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\ALTAVI~1.DLL
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SDHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar2.dll
O3 - Toolbar: AltaVista Toolbar - {4E7BD74F-2B8D-469E-92EA-EC65A294AE31} - C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\ALTAVI~1.DLL
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar2.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn2\ycomp5_5_7_0.dll
O3 - Toolbar: (no name) - {014DA6C9-189F-421a-88CD-07CFE51CFF10} - (no file)
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPDJ Taskbar Utility] C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb05.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SoundMan] SOUNDMAN.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KernelFaultCheck] %systemroot%\system32\dumprep 0 -k
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgcc.exe /STARTUP
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_EMC] C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgemc.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_02\bin\jusched.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WinampAgent] C:\Program Files\Winamp\winampa.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
O4 - Global Startup: LimeWire 4.0.8.lnk = C:\Program Files\LimeWire\LimeWire 4.0.8\LimeWire.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Works Calendar Reminders.lnk = ?
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Search - http://bar.mytotalse...ml?p=CPXXXXXX59
O8 - Extra context menu item: AltaVista Search - file://C:\Program Files\ALTAVISTA Toolbar\Cache\SelectedContextSearch.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate - file://C:\Program Files\ALTAVISTA Toolbar\Cache\SelectedContextTranslation.htm
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_02\bin\npjpi150_02.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_02\bin\npjpi150_02.dll
O9 - Extra button: Yahoo! Messenger - {E5D12C4E-7B4F-11D3-B5C9-0050045C3C96} - C:\PROGRA~1\Yahoo!\MESSEN~1\YPager.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger - {E5D12C4E-7B4F-11D3-B5C9-0050045C3C96} - C:\PROGRA~1\Yahoo!\MESSEN~1\YPager.exe
O9 - Extra button: @C:\Program Files\Messenger\Msgslang.dll,-61144 - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @C:\Program Files\Messenger\Msgslang.dll,-61144 - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Chat - http://us.chat1.yimg...t/c381/chat.cab
O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Chess - http://download.game...nts/y/ct2_x.cab
O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Poker - http://download.game...nts/y/pt1_x.cab
O16 - DPF: Yahoo! Pool 2 - http://download.game...ts/y/pote_x.cab
O16 - DPF: {00B71CFB-6864-4346-A978-C0A14556272C} (Checkers Class) - http://messenger.zon...ry/msgrchkr.cab
O16 - DPF: {04E214E5-63AF-4236-83C6-A7ADCBF9BD02} (HouseCall Control) - http://housecall60.t...all/xscan60.cab
O16 - DPF: {14B87622-7E19-4EA8-93B3-97215F77A6BC} (MessengerStatsClient Class) - http://messenger.zon...nt.cab31267.cab
O16 - DPF: {2253F320-AB68-4A07-917D-4F12D8884A06} (ChainCast VMR Client Proxy) - http://www.streamaud...d/ccpm_0237.cab
O16 - DPF: {2917297F-F02B-4B9D-81DF-494B6333150B} (Minesweeper Flags Class) - http://messenger.zon...MineSweeper.cab
O16 - DPF: {2B323CD9-50E3-11D3-9466-00A0C9700498} (Yahoo! Audio Conferencing) - http://us.chat1.yimg...v45/yacscom.cab
O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://us.dl1.yimg.c...nst_current.cab
O16 - DPF: {39B0684F-D7BF-4743-B050-FDC3F48F7E3B} (FilePlanet Download Control Class) - http://www.fileplane...DC_1_0_0_44.cab
O16 - DPF: {4E7BD74F-2B8D-469E-92EA-EC65A294AE31} (AltaVista Toolbar) - http://toolbar.altav...ab?r=1089531232
O16 - DPF: {4F1E5B1A-2A80-42CA-8532-2D05CB959537} (MSN Photo Upload Tool) - http://by20fd.bay20....es/MsnPUpld.cab
O16 - DPF: {70BA88C8-DAE8-4CE9-92BB-979C4A75F53B} (GSDACtl Class) - http://launch.gamesp...nch/alaunch.cab
O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai...all/xscan53.cab
O16 - DPF: {7D1E9C49-BD6A-11D3-87A8-009027A35D73} (Yahoo! Audio UI1) - http://chat.yahoo.com/cab/yacsui.cab
O16 - DPF: {8714912E-380D-11D5-B8AA-00D0B78F3D48} (Yahoo! Webcam Upload Wrapper) - http://chat.yahoo.com/cab/yuplapp.cab
O16 - DPF: {8E0D4DE5-3180-4024-A327-4DFAD1796A8D} (MessengerStatsClient Class) - http://messenger.zon...StatsClient.cab
O16 - DPF: {9A9307A0-7DA4-4DAF-B042-5009F29E09E1} (ActiveScan Installer Class) - http://www.pandasoft.../as5/asinst.cab
O16 - DPF: {A17E30C4-A9BA-11D4-8673-60DB54C10000} (YahooYMailTo Class) - http://us.dl1.yimg.c.../ymmapi_416.dll
O16 - DPF: {AE1C01E3-0283-11D3-9B3F-00C04F8EF466} (HeartbeatCtl Class) - http://fdl.msn.com/z...s/heartbeat.cab
O16 - DPF: {B38870E4-7ECB-40DA-8C6A-595F0A5519FF} (MsnMessengerSetupDownloadControl Class) - http://messenger.msn...pDownloader.cab
O16 - DPF: {B8BE5E93-A60C-4D26-A2DC-220313175592} (ZoneIntro Class) - http://messenger.zon...ro.cab31267.cab
O16 - DPF: {BF985246-09BF-11D2-BE62-006097DF57F6} (SimCityX Control) - http://simcity.ea.co...ic/SimCityX.cab
O16 - DPF: {D719897A-B07A-4C0C-AEA9-9B663A28DFCB} (iTunesDetector Class) - http://ax.phobos.app.../ITDetector.cab
O16 - DPF: {DA758BB1-5F89-4465-975F-8D7179A4BCF3} (WheelofFortune Object) - http://messenger.zon...oF.cab31267.cab
O16 - DPF: {E5D419D6-A846-4514-9FAD-97E826C84822} (HeartbeatCtl Class) - http://fdl.msn.com/z...s/heartbeat.cab
O16 - DPF: {F58E1CEF-A068-4C15-BA5E-587CAF3EE8C6} (MSN Chat Control 4.5) - http://fdl.msn.com/p...t/msnchat45.cab
O16 - DPF: {F6BF0D00-0B2A-4A75-BF7B-F385591623AF} (Solitaire Showdown Class) - http://messenger.zon...ireShowdown.cab
O16 - DPF: {FA3662C3-B8E8-11D6-A667-0010B556D978} (IWinAmpActiveX Class) - http://cdn.digitalci...illama/ampx.cab
O23 - Service: AVG7 Alert Manager Server (Avg7Alrt) - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgamsvr.exe
O23 - Service: AVG7 Update Service (Avg7UpdSvc) - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgupsvc.exe
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
Metallica

Metallica

    Spyware Veteran

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 31,671 posts
Let's see if disabling some needless junk helps.

Check the items listed below in HijackThis, close all windows except HijackThis and click Fix checked:

O2 - BHO: My Search BHO - {014DA6C1-189F-421a-88CD-07CFE51CFF10} - C:\Program Files\MySearch\bar\4.bin\S4BAR.DLL
O2 - BHO: AltaVista Toolbar - {4E7BD74F-2B8D-469E-92EA-EC65A294AE31} - C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\ALTAVI~1.DLL

O3 - Toolbar: AltaVista Toolbar - {4E7BD74F-2B8D-469E-92EA-EC65A294AE31} - C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\ALTAVI~1.DLL

O3 - Toolbar: (no name) - {014DA6C9-189F-421a-88CD-07CFE51CFF10} - (no file)

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_02\bin\jusched.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WinampAgent] C:\Program Files\Winamp\winampa.exe

O4 - Global Startup: LimeWire 4.0.8.lnk = C:\Program Files\LimeWire\LimeWire 4.0.8\LimeWire.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Works Calendar Reminders.lnk = ?
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Search - http://bar.mytotalse...ml?p=CPXXXXXX59

Reboot and let us know.

You can also try running the scan in safe mode

Regards,
  • 0

#3
Duke1

Duke1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
After a few days, I'm still having the same problem. I did virus, adware, scans etc. and everything is clean. So I don't think it has anything to do with malware, etc. :help:

Could it be because of my system is dirty? or maybe power? I don't know where to look to find any reasons why it shuts off! :tazz:

After it shuts down, I have to wait a few minutes to turn it back on.


Question-What is UPS? After looking in the Power Options Proberties, I noticed under the UPS tab section it is says "The UPS service is currently stopped", now does that have anything to do with it?


Any more help, recommendation, is appreciated!

PS- wrong forum? heh ;)
  • 0

#4
Metallica

Metallica

    Spyware Veteran

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 31,671 posts
It could have something to do with it:

UPS stands for Uninterrupteble Power Supply

Click Start > Run > type services.msc > OK

The services window will open.
Scroll down to find the Uninterrupteble Power Supply service and rightclick on it.
Choose Properties and set it to "Manual"
Then start it and let me know if you get any errrors.
Post the exact content of any errors.

Regards,
  • 0

#5
Duke1

Duke1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
Yep, an error..



Could not start the Uninterruptible Power Supply service on local computer.
Error 2481: The UPS service is not configured correctly.
  • 0

#6
Metallica

Metallica

    Spyware Veteran

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 31,671 posts
Control Panel > Power Options > on the UPS tab click the Info button.

Let me know what it says.

Regards,
  • 0

#7
Duke1

Duke1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
Umm I don't have an Info button :tazz:
Status button? Details button, maybe? when I click the icon under details..

Detailed UPS Information
UPS status
"No Detailed information is available for this UPS"
  • 0

#8
Metallica

Metallica

    Spyware Veteran

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 31,671 posts
Details then. I have to guess at translations sometimes since my Windows is not in the English language.

The conclusion that your driver somehow dissappeared seems inevitable.
We will have to find out which one you need.

Can you download and install ASTRA32 from http://www.astra32.com/index.htm
It will (hopefully) tell you which one you have so we can go look for a driver.

Regards,
  • 0

#9
Duke1

Duke1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
Here's a couple of screen shots if that helps..

Power Options Properties-UPS
Posted Image

After I click I click "Select"..
Posted Image


Should one of those be selected? It's currently set to "(None)"

Edited by Duke1, 06 June 2005 - 05:33 AM.

  • 0

#10
Metallica

Metallica

    Spyware Veteran

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 31,671 posts
The two choices you have are the most common ones.
I'll ask for some help from the hardware-gurus before I decide on the wrong one.

Regards,
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
Murray S.

Murray S.

    Trusted Tech

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,513 posts
  • MVP
Howdy Duke1:

What do you have your computer plugged into - a power bar, directly into a household power supply??

Murray
  • 0

#12
Duke1

Duke1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
Howdy Murry S:


To anwser your question, yes I do.


So my problem is power related then?
  • 0

#13
Murray S.

Murray S.

    Trusted Tech

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,513 posts
  • MVP
Sorry, I should have been a bit clearer..

Is your system plugged directly into household or does it run through a power bar?

Murray
  • 0

#14
Duke1

Duke1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
Power Bar
  • 0

#15
Murray S.

Murray S.

    Trusted Tech

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,513 posts
  • MVP
Chances are then you do not have a UPS attached therefore, you have nothing to worry about there.. The message you are getting is the norm for a system without a UPS installed on it..

A power bar does not constitute a UPS !!

Murray
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP