Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

No internet on Hp netbook MIE ubuntu 8.04

• Please log in to reply

sammiec86

sammiec86

• Pip
  • 7 posts
I have a hp mini net-book with i believe is running ubuntu 8.04. I have tried to get HP to help but they wont and found nothing useful online so far. I have no idea how to use the internet. I am totally new with Linux based OS. My laptop started with XP but I got a bad virus and had to restore. Hp have the MIE restore image creator and now I don't know how to use my computer. If anyone could help me establish a connection with my wireless router that would be great. Thanks!

Advertisements

Matthew C. Miller

Matthew C. Miller

• PipPipPip
  • 116 posts
If it is running Ubuntu, look for a Network-Manager icon or a Network-Admin icon, either on the desktop or in the Applications menu in the lower (or upper) left corner, depending on your version of Ubuntu.
  • Double-click or select Network-Manager or Network-Admin
  • In most pre-installed machines, the manufacturer has set it up with all the necessary drivers already.
  • In that case, it should initially show all available wireless networks and allow you to click on the network to connect to it.
  • If wireless authentication is needed by your router (WEP, WPA, etc) a network-manager dialog will pop up asking for your authentication details.
If that doesn't just work, you may need to load a driver for your specific wireless card. In that case, please post back here with the following: